The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 12, 2011, 09:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIBlueASA View Post
Thanks Dave, but I was more curious about the ASA ruling...I would like to know the PONY ruling too. I ask because I thought in one association, (and I work for 3), the batter does not have to pull the bat back. But in the other, if she doesn't, you call a strike on the bunt attempt. Though it's been a long winter and I may be very rusty.
ASA does not require the batter to pull the bat back. I'll ask Mike when I see him tomorrow.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 12, 2011, 09:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 241
Hence why I asked...when I saw this on a website, especially the part where it said the rule changed in 2009, I thought, "oh no! I've been calling it where the batter is NOT required to bring the bat back....any movement forward is considered an attempt, but not when he/she holds the bat there."

And then I read this, and say....have I been wrong for 2 years now???!!
__________________
ASA, NCAA, PONY, USSSA Fastpitch, NYSSO Umpire


As umpires, we are expected to be perfect our first game and get better every time out thereafter.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 12, 2011, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
ASA - no strike unless batter moves the bat toward the ball. Putting the bat out across the plate and simply leaving it there is not a strike. And, assuming of course, pitch is not in the strike zone.

NFHS - must pull the bat back or it will be considered an attempt.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 12, 2011, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
No, it is not accurate with ASA.

Personally, I consider the thought that not requiring the batter to attempt to hit the ball out of strike zone for it to be a strike ludicrous.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clarification Ch1town Basketball 5 Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:22pm
Clarification ? golfdesigner Football 5 Mon Jul 23, 2007 08:29am
Clarification: LLB 7.05 UmpireBob Baseball 4 Thu Jun 03, 2004 01:36am
Clarification eeyink Basketball 13 Wed Mar 12, 2003 02:25pm
Clarification jackgil Basketball 9 Mon Feb 21, 2000 09:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1