The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA - clarification (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/64771-asa-clarification.html)

LIUmp Sat Mar 12, 2011 09:01pm

ASA - clarification
 
On a bunt attempt, does the batter have to pull the bat back in order for a strike to not be called? That is, if the batter leaves the bat in the strike zone, he/she is not considered to have taken the pitch and it is considered a bunt attempt.

Does this rule differ in PONY? I don't have a rule book handy as I'm at work (and should be working....) but I'm curious.

Thanks!

NCASAUmp Sat Mar 12, 2011 09:10pm

Their rule is written very similarly to the ASA rule, but I can ask one of their higher-up UICs when I see him tomorrow (he calls in our association).

LIUmp Sat Mar 12, 2011 09:19pm

Thanks Dave, but I was more curious about the ASA ruling...I would like to know the PONY ruling too. I ask because I thought in one association, (and I work for 3), the batter does not have to pull the bat back. But in the other, if she doesn't, you call a strike on the bunt attempt. Though it's been a long winter and I may be very rusty.

LIUmp Sat Mar 12, 2011 09:25pm

The reason why I'm asking is because I am reading "myths" on a website and it struck me as something I wanted clarified.

Quote:

This myth has changed for 2009: The definition of a bunt attempt has changed, and now holding the bat in the strike zone is considered a bunt attempt. The batter is now requiring to withdrawn the bat in order to take a pitch.
Rationale: The new definition will make the bunt attempt easier for an umpire to determine and
creates a better balance between offense and defense.

NCASAUmp Sat Mar 12, 2011 09:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LIBlueASA (Post 739381)
Thanks Dave, but I was more curious about the ASA ruling...I would like to know the PONY ruling too. I ask because I thought in one association, (and I work for 3), the batter does not have to pull the bat back. But in the other, if she doesn't, you call a strike on the bunt attempt. Though it's been a long winter and I may be very rusty.

ASA does not require the batter to pull the bat back. I'll ask Mike when I see him tomorrow.

LIUmp Sat Mar 12, 2011 09:34pm

Hence why I asked...when I saw this on a website, especially the part where it said the rule changed in 2009, I thought, "oh no! I've been calling it where the batter is NOT required to bring the bat back....any movement forward is considered an attempt, but not when he/she holds the bat there."

And then I read this, and say....have I been wrong for 2 years now???!!

Tru_in_Blu Sat Mar 12, 2011 10:10pm

ASA - no strike unless batter moves the bat toward the ball. Putting the bat out across the plate and simply leaving it there is not a strike. And, assuming of course, pitch is not in the strike zone.

NFHS - must pull the bat back or it will be considered an attempt.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Mar 12, 2011 10:10pm

No, it is not accurate with ASA.

Personally, I consider the thought that not requiring the batter to attempt to hit the ball out of strike zone for it to be a strike ludicrous.

NCASAUmp Sun Mar 13, 2011 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LIBlueASA (Post 739377)
On a bunt attempt, does the batter have to pull the bat back in order for a strike to not be called? That is, if the batter leaves the bat in the strike zone, he/she is not considered to have taken the pitch and it is considered a bunt attempt.

Does this rule differ in PONY? I don't have a rule book handy as I'm at work (and should be working....) but I'm curious.

Thanks!

Spoke with Mike H. of PONY. They differ from ASA in that the batter does have to pull the bat back in PONY for it not to be a strike.

outathm Sun Mar 13, 2011 03:14pm

So, in PONY, if the bat is in the strike zone, it is a strike.:eek: Sounds good to me.

NCASAUmp Sun Mar 13, 2011 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by outathm (Post 739530)
So, in PONY, if the bat is in the strike zone, it is a strike.:eek: Sounds good to me.

That's what he told me today, so... Yep!

IRISHMAFIA Sun Mar 13, 2011 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by outathm (Post 739530)
So, in PONY, if the bat is in the strike zone, it is a strike.:eek: Sounds good to me.

I must be the only one who thinks this is a "lazy man's" rule. IMO, a ball out of the strike zone is never a strike if the batter did not attempt to hit the ball or the ball did not hit the bat. IMO, there is no viable reason for this rule to exist in an environment using professional umpires.

LIUmp Sun Mar 13, 2011 04:58pm

I'm with you Mike. I don't see why a strike would be called if the batter never offered at the pitch. In fact, it goes against the definition of a check swing and offering at a pitch.

And Dave and Mike and others, I thank you yet again for clearing up my confusion. This has been the way I have been calling it - ASA no strike, PONY strike...

Someone will want to mention to the Dallas Metroplex Softball Association that there is a mistake on their website under the forty myths. They have incorrectly listed this as an ASA rule, when it is, in fact, an NFHS and PONY rule.

DMSUA.COM

Myth number 11.

KJUmp Sun Mar 13, 2011 07:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LIBlueASA (Post 739560)
I'm with you Mike. I don't see why a strike would be called if the batter never offered at the pitch. In fact, it goes against the definition of a check swing and offering at a pitch.

And Dave and Mike and others, I thank you yet again for clearing up my confusion. This has been the way I have been calling it - ASA no strike, PONY strike...

Someone will want to mention to the Dallas Metroplex Softball Association that there is a mistake on their website under the forty myths. They have incorrectly listed this as an ASA rule, when it is, in fact, an NFHS and PONY rule.

DMSUA.COM

Myth number 11.

This is not a PONY rule or a correct interpretation according to the PONY rule book.
From the Points of Emphasis section in the PONY 2010 Girls Softball Rules and Regulations book (Pg.V):
#8 CHECK SWING/BUNT STRIKE
"On a bunt attempt where the batter puts the bat across the plate, unless the batter moves the bat towards the ball, a strike would not be called if the ball is out of the strike zone."

NCASAUmp Sun Mar 13, 2011 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LIBlueASA (Post 739560)
I'm with you Mike. I don't see why a strike would be called if the batter never offered at the pitch. In fact, it goes against the definition of a check swing and offering at a pitch.

And Dave and Mike and others, I thank you yet again for clearing up my confusion. This has been the way I have been calling it - ASA no strike, PONY strike...

Someone will want to mention to the Dallas Metroplex Softball Association that there is a mistake on their website under the forty myths. They have incorrectly listed this as an ASA rule, when it is, in fact, an NFHS and PONY rule.

DMSUA.COM

Myth number 11.

The person I spoke with made the comment, "if the rule changes in high school, I can guarantee you it will change the very next year in PONY." I suspect they want to have some amount of consistency for the girls who play NFHS.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1