The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 22, 2011, 07:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
Exactly
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 22, 2011, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Yesterday, I attemted to glibly add to the conversation, but in my rush to be cute, I made an error.
I since edited it to correct the statement....

Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
3/4 correct

correction: 1/4 correct ....
(1/4 was my first typing, but in my rush to give a "cute answer", I misread the rule)

What I am trying to say is that in NCAA, at the top of the strike zone, the entire ball must be in the zone.

"The top of the ball must be on or within the horizontal plane
"
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 22, 2011, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelVA2000 View Post
The entire ball DOES NOT need to be "within the window". A strke could be called if any part of the ball passes through the strike zone.
A strike could be called, but if the top of the ball is above the horizontal plane of the top of the zone, it's not a strike. Just clarifying.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 22, 2011, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
A strike could be called, but if the top of the ball is above the horizontal plane of the top of the zone, it's not a strike. Just clarifying.

Well if your going to be that way:

If a strike is called, it IS a strike.....

.....it just wasn't in the strike zone!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 22, 2011, 04:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcblue13 View Post
Sounds like a game of Angry Birds gone bad
However, the yellow (bird) doesn't break the glass
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 23, 2011, 08:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeastern NC
Posts: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
However, the yellow (bird) doesn't break the glass
You must not be touching the screen after you launch him. He is a pretty potent fowl once he gets the boost.
__________________
TCBLUE13
NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA

Softball in the Bible
"In the big-inning"

Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 23, 2011, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcblue13 View Post
You must not be touching the screen after you launch him. He is a pretty potent fowl once he gets the boost.
He breaks the wood, so if the strike zone is a wooden frame . . . .
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 23, 2011, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 62
Knees

We had an interesting discussion in our high school meeting. The instructor pointed out that the rule book states, Rule 2-56 ART. 3, "The strike zone....................the top of the knees.............." What he said was that the rule says that the ball has be at the top of the KNEES. Plural. Not one knee but it has to be at the top of both knees. So a pitch the is at the top of the front knee but drops and is below the back knee is a ball.

What is your interpretation?
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 23, 2011, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by drh898 View Post
We had an interesting discussion in our high school meeting. The instructor pointed out that the rule book states, Rule 2-56 ART. 3, "The strike zone....................the top of the knees.............." What he said was that the rule says that the ball has be at the top of the KNEES. Plural. Not one knee but it has to be at the top of both knees. So a pitch the is at the top of the front knee but drops and is below the back knee is a ball.

What is your interpretation?
I strongly disagree. "The top of the knees" establishes the (horizontal) bottom of the zone. A ball over any part of the plate that is high enough to touch that plane is a strike. It doesn't have to cross the whole plate. What if she is way back (or forward) in the box. Do you consider the height as it passes her knees, or where it crosses the plate?
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 23, 2011, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,785
Quote:
Originally Posted by drh898 View Post
We had an interesting discussion in our high school meeting. The instructor pointed out that the rule book states, Rule 2-56 ART. 3, "The strike zone....................the top of the knees.............." What he said was that the rule says that the ball has be at the top of the KNEES. Plural. Not one knee but it has to be at the top of both knees. So a pitch the is at the top of the front knee but drops and is below the back knee is a ball.

What is your interpretation?
Don't agree. Any part of the ball touching any part of the strike zone is a principle that should be followed unless clearly stated otherwise (NCAA entire ball must be at or below the horizontal plane of the bottom of the sternum).

It is my opinion that the intent and meaning in NFHS, including the wording and principle of "between" is "at the top of (either of) the knees", allowing that it a drop might hit the front knee at the front of the plate but not the back knee at the back of the plate, while ALSO allowing that a low rise might be UNDER the front knee at the front of the plate, but rise up to catch the back knee at the back of the plate.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 23, 2011, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 109
It all boils down to this...What do we get paid for? Outs. What gets you outs? Strikes. Therefore, I call any ball that touches any part of the area above the plate with a max height at the chest and the min height at the knees a strike.

Wow. We need more games when we're discussing fractions of an inch on strike zones.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2011, 01:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Don't agree. Any part of the ball touching any part of the strike zone is a principle that should be followed unless clearly stated otherwise (NCAA entire ball must be at or below the horizontal plane of the bottom of the sternum).

It is my opinion that the intent and meaning in NFHS, including the wording and principle of "between" is "at the top of (either of) the knees", allowing that it a drop might hit the front knee at the front of the plate but not the back knee at the back of the plate, while ALSO allowing that a low rise might be UNDER the front knee at the front of the plate, but rise up to catch the back knee at the back of the plate.
Good response.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2011, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 117
Not to hijack, but an earlier post, for some reason, brought this to mind:

What is the airspeed velocity of a softball-laden swallow?
__________________
Red meat is not bad for you. Fuzzy green meat is bad for you.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 01, 2011, 05:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
OK it’s really simple. If a pitch makes my right arm go up with a fist and makes me sing out my “called strike” call; it’s a strike! Right?
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 01, 2011, 06:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie View Post
OK it’s really simple. If a pitch makes my right arm go up with a fist and makes me sing out my “called strike” call; it’s a strike! Right?
As long as it doesnt turn into the dreaded strike-ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strike Zone jrp Softball 7 Thu May 19, 2005 08:01am
Strike Zone Stat-Man Softball 0 Thu Jul 01, 2004 01:36pm
Strike zone in FP Gael Softball 4 Mon Jun 28, 2004 06:48pm
MLB strike Zone mick Baseball 3 Fri May 30, 2003 07:59pm
The New Strike Zone Ump20 Baseball 1 Mon Mar 19, 2001 10:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1