The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2011, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Pitching Requirement Difference NFHS/ASA

So in ASA there is a rule that clearly makes bringing the hands together twice and illegal pitch. In NFHS there doesn't seem to be a similar rule, but there is a rule that says the delivery may not include a rocking motion that involves bringing the hands together after they have separated.

So, is the following not an illegal pitch in NFHS. Pitcher stands with the glove in front of her and without moving it puts her hand in. Takes her hand out. Puts her hand back in and then pitches?
________
VOLCANO VAPORIZER LOWEST PRICE

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2011, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
So in ASA there is a rule that clearly makes bringing the hands together twice and illegal pitch. In NFHS there doesn't seem to be a similar rule, but there is a rule that says the delivery may not include a rocking motion that involves bringing the hands together after they have separated.

So, is the following not an illegal pitch in NFHS. Pitcher stands with the glove in front of her and without moving it puts her hand in. Takes her hand out. Puts her hand back in and then pitches?
"Takes her hand out" = separated
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2011, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
"Takes her hand out" = separated
Yeah, I realize that. The question was about the other part. She's not using a rocking motion that involves the double touch. She's just double touching.
________
Angeliq cam

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2011, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Look at case book, 6-1-2 situation A. Illegal pitch.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2011, 08:54am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Rule 6-1-2(a):
The pitch starts when one hand is taken off the ball or the pitcher makes any motion that is part of the windup after the hands have been brought together.

Therefore, once the hands come together, they can only separate once because the pitch has started.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2011, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
So do you think the sentence about a rocking motion is meaningless? Putting my OP another way. The rule is substantially different in wording. Is there something that is legal in NFHS that isn't in ASA because of this wording?
________
Nikita

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2011, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
So do you think the sentence about a rocking motion is meaningless? Putting my OP another way. The rule is substantially different in wording. Is there something that is legal in NFHS that isn't in ASA because of this wording?
Yes, I think it intends and means the same thing, it is just worded differently.

As a practical matter, every umpire I know enforces the rule the same in both games.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2011, 01:31pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
So do you think the sentence about a rocking motion is meaningless? Putting my OP another way. The rule is substantially different in wording. Is there something that is legal in NFHS that isn't in ASA because of this wording?
Not that comes to mind. I believe this might be a case of unnecessary redundancy in the NFHS rules book. Maybe this rule is in there to clearly define legalities since NFHS pitchers may step backwards, but NOT after the hands have come together.

Maybe someone can come up with a sitch that would be legal in all other aspects but the "rocker" language (6-1-4b) prohibits.

Last edited by RadioBlue; Tue Feb 15, 2011 at 11:16am. Reason: add dropped word
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2011, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: N.KY
Posts: 87
Thumbs up pitching requirements

NFHS, Cannot step backwards after hands come together. May step backwards before hands come together OR simultaneously as the hands are coming together, but never AFTER the hands are together!
__________________
UMP64

Thoes who cannot remember the past, are condemned to repeat it!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 15, 2011, 11:16am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by UMP 64 View Post
NFHS, Cannot step backwards after hands come together. May step backwards before hands come together OR simultaneously as the hands are coming together, but never AFTER the hands are together!
Forgot the word "not". Thanks. I've fixed my post.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 22, 2011, 12:43pm
DSC DSC is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
The only time they could step backwards after the hands come together would be to remove themselves from the pitching position.

NFHS 6-1-1 f.

The pitcher may remove herself from the pitching position as follows:
1.before the hands come together, the pitcher may legally step back from the pitcher's plate with both feet;
2.when the hands are together and no part of the windup motion has been made, the pitcher may legally step back from the pitcher's plate with both feet;
3.either foot may be removed first.

But, I do agree if she remains in pitching position and removes a hand from the ball once brought together it is an illegal pitch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the Difference Between FIBA, NCAA and NFHS RCBSports Basketball 24 Fri Mar 14, 2008 08:33pm
NCAA/NFHS difference Nevadaref Basketball 6 Mon Dec 31, 2007 01:37pm
NCAA & NFHS Difference - Technical Foul All_Heart Basketball 4 Thu Mar 09, 2006 11:09am
NFHS Pitching Gulf Coast Blue Softball 3 Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:22am
Difference in Technical? -- NCAA vs. NFHS TGR Basketball 1 Thu Feb 13, 2003 03:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1