The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2010, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Rule vs. RS

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
No, it doesn't.

OK, I've finally figured out where you're misreading this. Read the rule again first. This is the rule. Now, read the RS again, parsing the sentence differently than it seems like you are parsing it.

"it must be made prior to the runner returning to first base while the ball is live."

You are reading this to mean it must be made prior to the runner returning; and separately that it must be made while the ball is live. I can see now how you got there, but this is NOT in line with the rule.

Read it again like this. It must be made prior to {the runner returning to first base while the ball is live}. IOW - if the runner returns to first base while the ball is live, the appeal must be made before that happens. If the runner never returns to first base while the ball is live, then it can happen anytime. THIS way of reading it IS in line with the rule.

You said it yourself --- These are not rules, they are explanations or clarifications. You should assume that if your reading of a clarification contradicts the actual rule, that you're reading it differently than they intended.
The quoted rule (8-2M-3) has one stipulation about an appeal on this particular play: Prior to the BR returning to first . There is no mention about the status of the ball, be it still live or dead (more specifically, both a live ball and dead ball appeal is permissible). If the BR advanced to 2B by award, it is still "prior" to the BR returning to first. Ok, all well and good, everyone of us has an out on the OP.

So why does this need a supplement? What is so difficult to understand about this rule, or what makes this rule any different (as in missing any other base) that would require it's own special mention in a rule (8-2-M) and it's own mention in the rule supplement #1? A BR may overrun 1B with being in jeopardy, which cannot happen at any other base. So we go to the rule supplement, . . it must be made prior to the runner returning to first while the ball is live . There is no contradiction from the rule, it now adds to the rule a specific condition, that of the status of the ball, to the exclusion of any dead ball appeals (if you mention one instance, you exclude the other instance).

FWIW, I am in agreement with Steve's analysis (after all, it is a missed base), and that there is a poor choice of wording. It should be written as:
To make a live ball appeal, the appeal must be made before the BR returns to first base. The appeal can also be made during a dead ball if the BR did not return to first base and advanced to another base.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Base Question Dholloway1962 Softball 6 Thu Aug 16, 2007 07:51am
double base type question Little Jimmy Softball 10 Tue May 04, 2004 08:53am
Another double base question... KSBlue Softball 3 Tue Jun 10, 2003 02:44pm
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm
double base question shipwreck Softball 18 Wed Aug 29, 2001 09:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1