View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 28, 2010, 11:19pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
FWIW, I am in agreement with Steve's analysis (after all, it is a missed base), and that there is a poor choice of wording. It should be written as:
To make a live ball appeal, the appeal must be made before the BR returns to first base. The appeal can also be made during a dead ball if the BR did not return to first base and advanced to another base.
And without going "Irish" on anyone, this is a no brainer. BY RULE, the runner still has not touched 1B and is liable to be retired via a proper live ball or dead ball appeal. Obviously, a live ball appeal is not available at this point.

RS#1.L applies when a runner is returning to 1B. The runner did not return to 1B, so this does not apply.

A missed base is a missed base. By rule, touching the wrong base is the same a missing a base and should be handled has such.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote