![]() |
|
|
|||
Missed 1B - double 1B appeal?
Batted ball to F6, B-R dives in to 1B, touching the white bag with his hand, beating the throw.
While still laying on the ground and touching the base, the B-R is tagged by F3 who appeals for a missed base. B-R still has not touched the colored bag, but - OTOH - the appeal has to be made before the B-R returns to the bag. So is he out - touching the white base is no different than being off the base returning from RF? Or safe because it is too late to appeal? WMB |
|
|||
Quote:
The BR never left the base, so he cannot "return", failed to touch the appropriate base when a play was obviously being executed at 1B and never "passed" the base to allow 8.3.B into consideration. Granted, the umpire would really have to be on top of this play to see the hand touching the wrong base, but for the scenario offered, I'll honor the appeal.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Larry |
|
|||
Does passage of time matter? In the OP, the appeal appears to have been made nearly immediately. What if the BR has time to stand, dust off, but still has not lost contact with the white bag or touched the orange. At that point, someone throws the ball to F3, who tags the BR voicing the appeal. Still honor the appeal?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Isn't the concept of "passed a base" a way of saying the runner does not have to touch the base as long as s/he covers the distance to the base and at some point is in the air space of the base?
Is "passed a base" synonymous with "reached a base"? If those are true, does it matter whether the hand or foot is on the top of the base ("passed" the leading edge) or just touching the side of the base? The wording of returning to a base possibly is because, like a lot of other rules, based on a specific visualization or case; with the principle applying more broadly. So, if the returning to a base principle really means having contact with the base after "passing/reaching"; then we should consider that the OP runner is safe from appeal. Also, we have to look at rules that were written before double bags were added in that light, IOW what did it mean when we only had a single bag.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
Argue if you must, but you will lose the protest if you apply it in any contradictory manner.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
I would have an out on this play. |
|
|||
Reading just a little bit into the scenario"
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
And I thought I didn't have a life
![]() It could. It depends on what you are talking about. You changed the scenario to the ball being in someone else's hands. In SP, the PU should have declared "time" if there is no immediate action by the defense to make an appeal. Once the ball is dead and the runner is standing on the base, no appeal is available. In FP, where you people insist on have a "live ball" game (which it really isn't), the appeal would have to be in a expeditious manner or I'm moving on with the game.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
However, you based your original reply on the use of the words "passed" and "returned" in the rules. The meanings of those words do not change with time, so if the appeal is not made quickly, what did the runner do that invalidates the appeal made after the coach yells, ball thrown around, etc. (assuming we are talking that inconveniently live-ball game)?
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Missed Base/Appeal | Lapopez | Baseball | 19 | Sat Oct 31, 2009 03:32pm |
Missed Home Plate Appeal | crewumpires | Baseball | 7 | Mon May 19, 2008 11:22am |
Missed Base Appeal | tibear | Baseball | 7 | Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:45am |
Missed base and appeal. | Illini_Ref | Baseball | 10 | Fri Apr 07, 2006 12:57pm |