The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by SergioJ View Post
ASA Rule 8, Section 2M

Serg
If you're refering to 8-2-M-5, I disagree. That rule is pretty clear: "On an errant throw pulling the defense off the white portion..."

That didn't happen according to the OP:

Quote:
Originally Posted by illiniwek8 View Post
Runner on first.....batter hits line drive to second baseman who catches it and throws to first baseman who has her foot on the orange safety base.....
With all due respect to everyone, I still have safe.
__________________
NFHS softball, ASA FP & SP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Um, Stu ... think it through. Are you really implying that a runner trying to get to first base FROM THE DIRECTION OF SECOND has to go to the orange bag to be safe? Logically, does that make any sense to you?

The rule you keep quoting SOLELY applies to plays being made on the batter-runner heading from the plate to first. In every other situation, the bag is just one big bag for both the offense and the defense.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Clary View Post
If you're refering to 8-2-M-5, I disagree. That rule is pretty clear: "On an errant throw pulling the defense off the white portion..."

That didn't happen according to the OP:



With all due respect to everyone, I still have safe.
The latest manual I have online is 2008, and in it this rule is number 8.3.M.7

Quote:
When tagging up on a fly ball, the white or colored portion of the base may be used.
Any time the runner can use both halves, so can the defense.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 15, 2010, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Clary View Post
Even though F3 never touched the white (ie in fair territory) part of the double base and the throw did not come from foul territory? Please note: I'm not trying to argue, just to learn.

Thanks.
Yep. Once the batter-runner passes the bags, it becomes one big two-tone base, either color equally valid for all purposes.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety base, muffed batted ball Dakota Softball 4 Wed Jul 26, 2006 03:48pm
Safety base Gael Softball 7 Wed Mar 31, 2004 03:46am
Observations: 1st complete season with the "safety" base Dakota Softball 15 Fri Aug 08, 2003 04:16pm
first base safety base sneallyk Baseball 3 Thu Jan 02, 2003 04:14pm
u12 - Play at first, 1st baseperson steps on Safety Base zebraman55 Softball 2 Thu Jun 14, 2001 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1