The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 10, 2010, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
...PU and BU discuss, and both had the same awards - but both feel that had NEITHER obstruction occurred, AND the misplay at F6 happened as it did, this runner likely would have scored.

What do you do?
The obstruction training / application from ASA (the part about determining the award at the time of the OBS) does not take into account the cumulative effect of multiple acts of OBS. The written black-and-white rule clearly states that the umpire is to award the base or bases that would have been reached had there been no obstruction (ASA 8-5-B-4 EFFECT). Therefore, given the umpire team's judgment as you stated above, award home.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple forums??? DownTownTonyBrown General / Off-Topic 10 Sat Aug 28, 2004 08:24pm
Multiple Foul? Nu1 Basketball 7 Mon Mar 08, 2004 11:44am
Multiple T's BoomerSooner Basketball 6 Fri Feb 27, 2004 01:53am
Multiple Foul golfdesigner Basketball 9 Thu Feb 19, 2004 04:46pm
Multiple fouls bseybs32 Basketball 3 Mon Feb 09, 2004 11:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1