The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2004, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 30
How many times have any of you called a false double foul, simultaneous foul, multiple foul, or a false multiple foul?

I've been officiating for 5 yrs. and I personally haven't had to call any of these, or seen the varsity crew call any either.

If you have called them, how do you explain to coaches? I know they will be confused as to how you can have two fouls at once.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2004, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
You just call it. You don't explain it. Here's an example.

A1 attempts a try and is fouled by B1. The attempt is successful. After the ball goes through the basket, A1 turns and taunts B1, resulting in a technical foul.

That's a false double foul. Two opponents fouling each other, but not at the same time. No need to explain to the coaches that it's a false double foul. They probably don't really care. Just administer the penalties in the order in which the fouls occured.

If you try to explain the technical terms, you'll just confuse people and muddy the waters. As long as you know what they are and how they're administered, you're good!
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2004, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 764
Multiple Fouls

Funny you mention this. I am working with a new partner tomorrow and as a joke, I told him I was brushing up on all these situations in case we had a multiple foul. I asked him if one was intentional, would they get the ball OOB after the 4 FT's and count the basket? His reply was that if I call a multiple foul, I'll be handling the situatioin myselft and walking home (even though I'm driving).

There is a definition of a multiple foul, however, it is a ficticous creature, kind of like the Lochness Monster. Although, if you read enough of the threads here, I believe someone actually saw one once.

Mregor
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2004, 11:27am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally posted by bseybs32
How many times have any of you called a false double foul, simultaneous foul, multiple foul, or a false multiple foul?

I've been officiating for 5 yrs. and I personally haven't had to call any of these, or seen the varsity crew call any either.

If you have called them, how do you explain to coaches? I know they will be confused as to how you can have two fouls at once.
I've had 2 false doubles (common fouls only) in my 8 year career. One in 1998 at a provincial camp and one about 2 months ago. I've had a few that involve a T like Chuck outlined. They're not the ones you need to really explain.

Never had a multiple, but could have. Didn't call it as such though. I would only ever call it, for example, if one player hacked the shooter on the way up and I had a whistle, and a rather effective blocking foul was after that.

How would I explain them? To be honest, a bit like a certain NFL ref (who shall remain nameless, but is probably the talk on a thread or two in another sports forum) might.

Speak clearly about what happened, and that one foul has nothing to do with the other.

Actually, I had a blocking foul this past Friday. Offense going in for a layup, defender coming to play defense inmiddle of key from another direction. Offensive player without the ball bumps defender, not allowing him time and distance and therefore, defender had no play on the ball carrier. Tweet. Block. When reporting, I said "Blue, 15, blocking. His bump prevented white 20 from making a play on the ball carrier."

I don't recommend that detail on many calls, but in this Grade 8 all-star vs. JV Boys game, it was perfect.

Mike

[Edited by JugglingReferee on Feb 9th, 2004 at 02:34 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1