![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Tru_in_Blu: Did F1 touch HP in response to her coach's instructions or in an attempt to tag R1? If F1 touched HP in response to her coach's instructions, then the defensive appeal has been successful. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
If in that scenario, the runner somehow made it back to HP and touched before being tagged [tag w/ glove, ball in hand], how could you sell it to the D-coach who saw his catcher standing on HP? I'd consider this a live ball appeal. This opposed to a dead ball appeal on a runner missing a base or leaving early on a fly ball. That appeal would have to come from an infielder [and NOT the coach].
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
In ASA, 8-7-I-2 seems to allow any defensive player to make a live ball appeal. ASA 8-7-I-3 limits dead ball appeals to the infielders.
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball |
|
|||
Sounds to me like whoever had the ball touched home on accident. There are no accidental appeals. If she was still trying to make a tag, the touch of home was not an appeal.
Now... that said, who has the dang ball?!?!?! You flip flop back and forth between pitcher and catcher. I'm assuming that whoever was on the plate trying to make a tag had the ball, but you never said she did, nor how she GOT the ball. If this person on the plate didn't yet have the ball, you have obstruction.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Thinking about it some more, if the situation was a batter-runner missing 2B or 3B [no force situations] and tried to get back, it would have to be a tag the runner and not the base. Only after the play had completed could the defense appeal the missed base. Yeah, that's it. I think I'm convincing myself. ![]()
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Thinking about it some more, if the situation was a batter-runner missing 2B or 3B [no force situations] and tried to get back, it would have to be a tag the runner and not the base. Only after the play had completed could the defense appeal the missed base.
In ASA, after a miss, the defense can appeal by tagging the missed base. There's no "in the vicinity" or "returning to touch" rule (or, more accurately, interpretation) as there is under official baseball rules. No need to wait until play stops.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Joyce misses one | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 134 | Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:03pm |
WBC -- B/R misses 1B, collision, B/R out | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 10 | Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:57pm |
Runner misses base | NC_Blue | Softball | 2 | Fri Jun 08, 2007 10:06am |
HR, batter misses 1st | orioles35 | Baseball | 15 | Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:57am |
Home run 2 outs, runner misses bag | Gre144 | Baseball | 9 | Wed Mar 31, 2004 09:57pm |