The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 10, 2010, 08:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Sounds to me like whoever had the ball touched home on accident. There are no accidental appeals. If she was still trying to make a tag, the touch of home was not an appeal.

Now... that said, who has the dang ball?!?!?! You flip flop back and forth between pitcher and catcher. I'm assuming that whoever was on the plate trying to make a tag had the ball, but you never said she did, nor how she GOT the ball. If this person on the plate didn't yet have the ball, you have obstruction.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 10, 2010, 07:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Sounds to me like whoever had the ball touched home on accident. There are no accidental appeals. If she was still trying to make a tag, the touch of home was not an appeal.

Now... that said, who has the dang ball?!?!?! You flip flop back and forth between pitcher and catcher. I'm assuming that whoever was on the plate trying to make a tag had the ball, but you never said she did, nor how she GOT the ball. If this person on the plate didn't yet have the ball, you have obstruction.
Sorry - typo, not a flip-flop. Catcher F2 retrieved and had the ball the whole time.

Thinking about it some more, if the situation was a batter-runner missing 2B or 3B [no force situations] and tried to get back, it would have to be a tag the runner and not the base. Only after the play had completed could the defense appeal the missed base.

Yeah, that's it. I think I'm convincing myself.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 11, 2010, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Thinking about it some more, if the situation was a batter-runner missing 2B or 3B [no force situations] and tried to get back, it would have to be a tag the runner and not the base. Only after the play had completed could the defense appeal the missed base.

In ASA, after a miss, the defense can appeal by tagging the missed base. There's no "in the vicinity" or "returning to touch" rule (or, more accurately, interpretation) as there is under official baseball rules. No need to wait until play stops.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joyce misses one johnnyg08 Baseball 134 Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:03pm
WBC -- B/R misses 1B, collision, B/R out johnnyg08 Baseball 10 Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:57pm
Runner misses base NC_Blue Softball 2 Fri Jun 08, 2007 10:06am
HR, batter misses 1st orioles35 Baseball 15 Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:57am
Home run 2 outs, runner misses bag Gre144 Baseball 9 Wed Mar 31, 2004 09:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1