The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 12, 2010, 08:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 29
Dislodged Base clarification

(ASA Rule Set)
Rule 8-3-C states: "When a runner dislodges a base from its proper position, that runner and trailing runner(s) in the same series of plays are not compelled to follow a base out of position."

The wording indicates that a trailing runner would be safe if they were standing in the vicinity of where the base originally was positioned, and were subsequently tagged.

My question is: Would the trail runner still be safe if they are standing on the dislodged base which was 8 feet behind second base, and are tagged?

Wasn't sure if the "not compelled" component of the rule covered both the area around the base (sans the base) AND the current position of the dislodged base.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Clarification... bas2456 Basketball 11 Mon Jan 18, 2010 06:34am
Clarification Ch1town Basketball 5 Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:22pm
Clarification ? golfdesigner Football 5 Mon Jul 23, 2007 08:29am
ASA Double base play -- I hope I'm not off-base here Tap Softball 9 Wed Mar 05, 2003 11:15pm
Dislodged base greymule Softball 7 Tue Oct 08, 2002 06:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1