The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2010, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
ASA answers needed, but open to answers for other rule sets.

From another forum:



So the fielder jumped over the fence into DBT, grabs the ground ball and throws it back in.

What say you all?

I say ASA 8-5-K.
ASA 8-5-K is right on point....fielder threw a live ball while standing in dead ball territory.

NFHS is a bit more tricky...5-1-1i(b) defines the action, the dead ball table shows the penalty - Award all runners one base from the time the ball became dead, except when the caught ball is the third out.

I suppose that last part is referring to a catch and carry situation.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2010, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
ASA 8-5-K is right on point....fielder threw a live ball while standing in dead ball territory.

NFHS is a bit more tricky...5-1-1i(b) defines the action, the dead ball table shows the penalty - Award all runners one base from the time the ball became dead, except when the caught ball is the third out.

I suppose that last part is referring to a catch and carry situation.
Not totally on point. 8-5-K reads: "When in the judgement of the umpire, a fielder intentionally carries, kicks, pushes or throws a live ball from live ball territory."

The sitch in the OP has the fielder in dead ball territory, picking up a ball in live ball territory. But like NCAA 12.13, while not a "perfect fit", 8-5-K could work, absent any other pertinent ASA rule.
Effect would still be an award of two bases for all runners from the last base touched at the time the player in DBT touched the ball in LBT?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2010, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
I, too, have a problem with the "intentional" portion since the player did not take the ball out of play intentionally. Yet, based upon the interpretation provided last year by KR, I have no problem with the 2 bases.

With no outs and R1 on 2B, B2 hits a line drive to F7. R1 is off on the hit and headed toward 3B when F7 misses the sinking line drive and knocks the ball forward on the ground in front of him. While running in and trying to scoop up the ball, F7 kicks the ball into the 3B dugout. When the ball entered the 3B dugout, R1 is two steps from 3B and B2 is not yet to 1B. Which bases should R1 and B2 be awarded? RULING: R1 is awarded home and B2 is awarded 2B. The ball being kicked into dead ball territory would be treated the same as if F7 threw the ball into dead ball territory. Each runner would be awarded two bases from the time the ball left F7’s foot. (Rule 8, Section 5G)
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
Not totally on point. 8-5-K reads: "When in the judgement of the umpire, a fielder intentionally carries, kicks, pushes or throws a live ball from live ball territory."

The sitch in the OP has the fielder in dead ball territory, picking up a ball in live ball territory. But like NCAA 12.13, while not a "perfect fit", 8-5-K could work, absent any other pertinent ASA rule.
Effect would still be an award of two bases for all runners from the last base touched at the time the player in DBT touched the ball in LBT?
Now we are back to grammar and semantics....the way this is written the verbs carries, kicks, pushes, and throws are all seperate acts. You could remove any of them from the sentence and it would still be a valid statement.

...a fielder intentionally throws a live ball from DBT....

Looks to me that is exactly what happened here.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Never mind....reading to quickly again and only seeing what I want to see....
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[ASA Co-Ed] Dead Ball Territory Question Stat-Man Softball 15 Fri Jun 12, 2009 02:18pm
Ball thrown into Dead ball territory MASS F/B UMP Softball 11 Mon May 04, 2009 11:32am
dead ball territory ggk Baseball 6 Fri Dec 30, 2005 08:47pm
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations BJ Moose Baseball 20 Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am
Overthrow into dead ball territory Ron Pilo Softball 3 Thu May 18, 2000 09:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1