The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 12:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 69
Illegal pitch?

NFHS - pitcher recieves new ball from umpire. runner on 3rd base. she takes ball and rolls it in dirt because it is "slick". Is this an illegal pitch that advances the runner one base and awards a called ball to the batter?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 12:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprivitor View Post
NFHS - pitcher recieves new ball from umpire. runner on 3rd base. she takes ball and rolls it in dirt because it is "slick". Is this an illegal pitch that advances the runner one base and awards a called ball to the batter?
I can see where some umpires may rule that way. Personally, I'm retrieving the ball from the pitcher, remind to not do that again, bring the coach up to speed (if necessary). If the ball is damaged, it's leaving the game. If not, I will rub down the ball and return it to the pitcher.

No, I'm not advancing any runners.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 01:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
The ball is dead. Agree with Irish above as about the most I'd do.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pullman, WA
Posts: 16
is there a rule that says a pitcher can not roll ball in dirt? Is dirt a foreign substance? Playing devils advocate a little. Anyway umpire should not put a "new" ball into play with out it being "roughed" up by him/herself or under him/her's direction.
__________________
DJ Postle
NCAA ASA NFHS
"Close only counts in horseshoes, hand grenades, and the outside corner."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncaaumpdj View Post
is there a rule that says a pitcher can not roll ball in dirt? Is dirt a foreign substance?
The rule is more along the lines of foreign substance and damaging the ball (most ground the ball into the dirt, not just rolled).

Quote:
Playing devils advocate a little. Anyway umpire should not put a "new" ball into play with out it being "roughed" up by him/herself or under him/her's direction.
Absolutely agree.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pitch - Illegal or No Pitch? Duke Softball 13 Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:17am
When does an leegal pitch BECOME and illegal pitch. Illini_Ref Baseball 4 Fri Apr 23, 2004 02:06pm
Legal Pitch vs. Illegal Pitch ? Deion Softball 15 Mon Jun 30, 2003 04:24pm
illegal ball... illegal pitch? [email protected] Baseball 5 Thu Apr 17, 2003 06:57pm
Hit by pitch along with Illegal pitch Del-Blue Softball 10 Sun Mar 09, 2003 09:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1