The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 12:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Under NFHS 2-1-2-d, Types of Appeals "Attempting to advance to second base after making the turn at first base overrunning first base (live-ball appeal only)." underline added

So, this is a defined appeal in NFHS, but can only be remedied as a live ball appeal.

Under NFHS 2-1-3-a Methods by which an appeal may be made "Live. An appeal may be made during a live ball by any fielder in possession of the ball by touching the base missed or left too soon on a caught fly ball, or by tagging the runner committing the violation if she is still on the playing field (even if she is standing on another base)."

That should be clear that ONLY missed bases or bases left too soon may be appealed live by touching the applicable base; in any other case, the sole remedy is to tag the runner with the ball.

So, yes this an appeal situation; however, you cannot rule on it unless appealed properly, which requires tagging the runner. The only protest that could be upheld is one stating that the umpire misapplied the rule by declaring an out without a proper appeal.

The defense has all the options available to them at this point; 1) advance toward R2, who is in jeopardy if tagged, and a) tag her out, or b) possibly get a call for out of basepath, since R2 must then advance directly toward either 1st or 2nd base, not in any other avoiding direction (now avoiding a tag), or 2) return the ball to F1 in the circle, which forces R1 to remain on 3rd, forces R2 to immediately advance to 2nd or return to 1st (LBR violation if she hesitates), and then the option of playing on R2 when she gets closer to the base to get the out (while holding R1 at 3rd since she cannot leave the base until a play or faked play is made).

In no case does the rule allow the umpire to declare a live ball appeal out on R1 unless she is tagged with the ball while off a base.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B-R turn at 1B tcannizzo Softball 6 Mon Nov 17, 2008 12:03pm
I guess it was my turn. Rich Basketball 18 Sun Jan 14, 2007 04:43pm
Everyone Turn On PMs Snake~eyes Basketball 9 Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:11pm
OK...my turn Bob M. Football 22 Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:57am
My turn!!! Suppref Basketball 4 Fri Mar 02, 2001 06:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1