The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 18, 2010, 03:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetheump View Post
2010 ASA RuleBook, Rule 6, Section3, J:"The pitcher has 10 seconds to release the next pitch after receiving the ball or after the umpire indicates "play ball."
You were saying Irish.....?
In this particular case, I'm NOT going to indicate "play ball" to further *iss off the pitcher. Like I said in my earlier post, sometimes the best call is no call at all.
Just because you choose to avoid pissing off a pitcher (who is showing you up) by not indicating "play ball" does not mean the rule requires possession.

BTW, what's with everything being in bold?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 18, 2010, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post

BTW, what's with everything being in bold?
Thank you for addressing the elephant in the room....or on the board, as the case may be.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 18, 2010, 06:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Just because you choose to avoid pissing off a pitcher (who is showing you up) by not indicating "play ball" does not mean the rule requires possession.

BTW, what's with everything being in bold?
Just my style, Dakota. And again, I would say something (quietly) to the catcher to help get this situation resolved. Getting in a pissing contest with a player usually does not have a "good" outcome.

Last edited by Stevetheump; Mon Jan 18, 2010 at 06:39pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 18, 2010, 06:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
The question from the OP is:

Umpire rules ball 4 and awards batter 1B. Defense protests what they believe is a misinterpretation of rule 6.3.

As the UIC, how would you rule?


The issue is not whether you would have called a ball or not. The situation was given and the PU did call a ball. The result was a protested game.

The whole bolding thing to me seems like someone trying to make a statement and wanting to ensure they're being heard. That being the case, and if that's Stevethump's "style", I'd have to question if he could quietly tell the catcher anything. If he gave the catcher a handwritten note, I'd expect it to be bolded.

I do read most of the entries posted here. I don't have a pressing need to reply to every one, even if they are less than five years old.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pitcher after a rain delay Jay R Baseball 1 Thu Apr 17, 2008 08:42pm
T for Delay dan74 Basketball 2 Sat Dec 01, 2007 09:19am
Delay of Game on Pitcher? cshs81 Baseball 6 Tue Jun 19, 2007 08:54am
Delay on B? dumbref Football 17 Sat Oct 29, 2005 01:13pm
Delay after TO physicsref Basketball 26 Thu Dec 06, 2001 09:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1