![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
At the risk of confusing you, if you have heads up defensive players, they would tag R1 first (assuming R1 is on 2B) prior to touching 2B, keeping the force play active. Otherwise, if R2 if forced initially, then R1 is no longer required to advance, and would be safe at 2B. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
1. Touch third base while possessing the ball before R2 is retired. 2. Touch R1 with the ball or the glove in possession of the ball. If your SS runs to 2nd and touches the base and then touches R1, R1 is safe. If she runs to 2nd and touches the runner then the base, that's a double play. The only time you call them out for two runners on the same base without a tag is if the pitcher has the ball in the circle and is not making a play on the runners. Give everyone time to make a mistake and then call time and take the runner not entitled to the base off of it. ________ HotMonic live Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:09pm. |
|
|||
|
Actually, if both R1 and R2 stand a foot or two off the base, and the fielder tags both (while both are off the base), R1 is out and R2 is safe and placed on the base.
Wait, that only applies to MLB, and only in the playoffs, and only if the Yankees are on offense...
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Remember also that the BR between home and 1B is out only if he steps backward to avoid or delay a tag. Merely retreating, such as in the mistaken belief that his fly ball was caught in the outfield, is not a violation.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
In ASA and NCAA, no one is declared out without being actually put out; if the defense refuses to make the necessary tag, and the runners remain on the base, you would call time and return the trailing runner to the prior base, since no out has been made by the defense, nor rule violated by the offense.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
________ Roll Blunts Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:09pm. |
|
|||
|
asa 8.3.e
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
There is no such ruling.....even in MLB. The player must be retired in the same manners required at any other time.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Double Play or Not? | mmtech | Baseball | 105 | Mon Jul 06, 2009 03:38pm |
| Double play at first | mydingding77 | Softball | 15 | Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:49am |
| double play..or not | coach2535 | Baseball | 10 | Tue May 29, 2007 10:10pm |
| double play...or is it?? | soonerfan | Baseball | 5 | Tue Jun 24, 2003 02:56pm |
| Double play | Whowefoolin | Baseball | 9 | Wed Jul 25, 2001 12:37pm |