The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 24, 2009, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC, NY USA
Posts: 30
Yet another INT/OBS question

Hi, all -- I'm an inexperienced ASA slow pitch umpire looking for a second opinion on an adult rec game I called yesterday.

Two outs, R1 on 2B, R2 on 1B. Batter hits a grounder up the middle, actually a little to the left side of the pitcher's circle, and F1 makes a stab for it, but the ball continues through (untouched).

R1 and F6 then collide as F6 is preparing to pick up the grounder. Ball bounces off F6 and rolls to the side.

I immediately called interference on R1 for the third out of the inning.

R1 argued that since F1 had attempted to make a play on the ball, R1 should be given a clear path to 3B and F6 should not have been in his way. R1's argument, as I understand it, was that he didn't feel interference applied because F6 was not making an attempt to field the ball at the time of the collision, F1 was.

I explained to R1 that I didn't see F1 touch the ball -- which might have changed how I ruled on the collision (it did not look like intentional contact on R1's part). Absent any deflection, I explained, R1 had to give F6 a chance to field the ball.

Comments? It was a friendly game and while R1 was certain he was right, nobody broke any blood vessels in their brain arguing over it. I'm just looking for a more experienced point of view -- I know most INT/OBS calls are HTBT, but could I have ruled that the runner was protected (not the fielder) in this case, by virtue of his impression that R1 was fielding the ball?

And a hypothetical scenario (pretty much unrelated to the original question) -- if F1 had successfully picked up the grounder, then R1 and F6 collided, and F1 threw to F5 for an apparent force out, would you agree that I would be justified in awarding R1 third base? I've called obstruction a handful of times but usually when runners are advancing on base hits; I've never had to deal with it on a play in the infield.

Scott
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1