The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeputyUICHousto View Post
Runner 1 on first base, 2 outs. Slow roller hit to second baseman waiting in base line to field batted ball. Second baseman does not field the ball but attempts to tag the runner. Second baseman does not have possession of the ball. The tag trips the runner. Runner gets up and continues on to second base while second baseman picks up ball and throws to shortstop who gets the force out. I ruled obstruction. Anyone "see" anything different?
Im having a hard time visualizing the play. Did F4 make a "phantom tag" while the ball was still rolling to him/her or did the ball fail to make it into their glove and they tried to field the ball and make the tag all in one motion?

Was the runner running behind or in front of F4?

8-5-B-4
Quote:
RUNNERS ARE ENTITLED TO ADVANCE WITHOUT LIABILITY TO BE
PUT OUT.

When a fielder not in possession of the ball or not in the act of fielding a
batted ball, obstructs the progress of a runner or batter-runner.

When a runner, while advancing or returning to a base
a. Is obstructed by a fielder who neither has the ball or
b. Is attempting to field a batted or thrown ball, or
c. When a fielder fakes a tag without the ball
8-7-J
Quote:
THE RUNNER IS OUT.

When a runner interferes:
1. With a fielder attempting to field a batted fair ball or a foul fly ball, or
2. With a fielder attempting to throw the ball, or
3) With a thrown ball.
EFFECT: If this interference, in the umpire’s judgment is an attempt to prevent
a double play and occurs before the runner is put out, the immediate
trailing runner shall also be called out.
4. Intentionally with any defensive player having the opportunity to make
an out with the deflected batted ball.
EFFECT: The ball is dead and the runner is out. All other runners must return
to the last base touched at the time of the interference.
I think these would be the 2 pertinent rules, depending on how you see the situation develop, but I think you either have nothing if it was a catch the ball in 1 motion and try to apply a tag (maybe same principle as the "tangle play") or OBS on F4 for applying a "phantom tag"



Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
... she [F4}loses her protection from an OBS call.
you mean INT call?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinions on this? billgates51 Football 38 Tue May 05, 2009 03:35pm
Your opinions please hawk65 Basketball 41 Thu Feb 01, 2007 01:52pm
Need Opinions tmp44 Basketball 12 Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:17am
Opinions Please..... thumpferee Basketball 5 Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:28am
Your opinions MD Longhorn Softball 26 Fri Oct 03, 2003 04:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1