![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Yes, "my bad" for misunderstanding the coach's intention and thinking that he may have meant the DP would be playing defense for the FLEX (meaning a substitution has occured and the FLEX had left the game) instead of the DP playing defense for a different player (a perfectly legal move, but not a substitution).
But I'm not a mindreader. He presented the change to me by just saying, "My DP is going to play defense now"- no mention of who she would be playing defense for. Kind of seemed like a good point to clear up before accepting the change! All I was doing was trying to clarify which move he was making, to prevent his team from possibly burning a sub they didn't intend to burn or having any line-up issues and the guy blew up about it, apparently thinking that I was denying him an otherwise legal switch. So much for "preventive umpiring". At least the guy cooled off, we hashed it out, the correct change was made and we got right back to playing softball. |
|
|||
That's why I always ask "Ok coach, for who?" everytime they report the DP playing defense. Makes them tell me so I dont' assume anything!! Also I have this stupid notion that if I ask them that enough they will actually start properly reporting the change the first time. I know this is a stupid pipe dream but I keep hoping!!!!!!!
|
|
|||
Quote:
I have always thought it was a sub. Am I missing something? or is someone else? |
|
|||
Technically, it is not a substitution.
ASA definition: SUBSTITUTE: Any member of a team’s roster who is not listed as a starting player, or a player who leaves and re-enters the game. ASA Rule 4-3-I (in part): The FLEX replacing the DP is not considered a substitution for the FLEX. The DP, who has left the game, can re-enter the game. A substitution means a player not in the game has entered, replacing a player who was in the game, but has now left the game. When the FLEX bats or the DP plays defense for the FLEX, only the second part of that is fulfilled (at player has left the game); but, no player has entered the game. It creates a re-entry situation for the player removed, but has no effect on the status of the other player.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Kind of... I mark the exit of FLEX (or DP, depending) next to that player's position in the lineup, and circle the player to mark her re-entry, but nothing regarding the other player.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
It is treated the same as a substitution as it concerns the player who left the game, not for the one who was already and remains in the game.
|
|
|||
Dakota, I'm sure you're correct, but...
Can you show me where that's stated in the rules? I thought I had this down pat, but if I make this call, I'll need to have seen this in black & white.
I assume this applies to ITB as well? |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Dp/flex | tryntodoitright | Softball | 10 | Thu Sep 20, 2007 10:20am |
ASA FLEX/DP | sprivitor | Softball | 4 | Sun Apr 17, 2005 09:59pm |
Reporting Flex for DP and DP for Flex | shipwreck | Softball | 5 | Tue Sep 07, 2004 02:44pm |
what ifs (dp/flex) | Little Jimmy | Softball | 7 | Wed Mar 17, 2004 04:06pm |
DP / Flex and CR | Dakota | Softball | 33 | Fri Feb 13, 2004 07:06am |