The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 29, 2009, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
What was your UIC's reasoning? Sounds like a good call to me.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 29, 2009, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Cecil,
F3 didn't lose contact with the base in order to make the catch, so she was on the bag when the BR got there. F2 retrieved the ball and made the throw to 2B.

Dakota,
UIC was protecting her to 1B, since it happened between Home & 1B; if she was out by a mile at 2B, I still would have protected her back to 1B.

Thanks for the replies guys
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 29, 2009, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
...UIC was protecting her to 1B, since it happened between Home & 1B;
But that is irrelevant if, in your judgment, she would have made 2B without the obstruction.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
...if she was out by a mile at 2B, I still would have protected her back to 1B.

Thanks for the replies guys
If the obs happened between home and 1B, and she proceeds beyond 1B, she is only protected if you judged she would have made 2B without the obs. If she is tagged out at 2B, you cannot return her to 1B. It is either 2B or the out stands.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 29, 2009, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Excellent point, but it's occurring ON 1B, so is that still considered between Home & 1B.

I was equating this to F3 watching a fly ball in left field while standing on 1B, in my conversation with UIC. In that case, is it still considered between Home & 1B?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 29, 2009, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
My edit didn't take...

It was UIC's opinion that it was between Home & 1B.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 29, 2009, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Excellent point, but it's occurring ON 1B, so is that still considered between Home & 1B.
You clearly stated that the BR took an outside route to avoid F3 and then touched 1B. By rule, the runner is protected between the bases (with few exceptions which do not apply here) where the OBS occurred.

You have every right to protect the runner to 2B. However, if you place a runner back to a base which they passed, you have misapplied the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 29, 2009, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
You have every right to protect the runner to 2B. However, if you place a runner back to a base which they passed, you have misapplied the rule.
Just to clarify, that means that if you place a runner back to a base they passed **after the obstruction**, you have misapplied the rule.
________
Cannabis seeds

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 29, 2009, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Just to clarify, that means that if you place a runner back to a base they passed **after the obstruction**, you have misapplied the rule.
Considering the context of the thread, I thought that would be obvious, but the answer is yes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction.... blindofficial Baseball 20 Thu Apr 05, 2007 01:31am
Obstruction? tarheelcoach Baseball 68 Sat Mar 24, 2007 08:35pm
Obstruction..or not? Andy Softball 7 Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:58pm
obstruction:asa/fed Little Jimmy Softball 10 Sat Feb 14, 2004 04:13pm
Obstruction or nothing? heyblue Softball 6 Thu Mar 13, 2003 06:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1