![]() |
|
|||
|
Rule 10.1 doesn't apply if there is a rule in place to cover the sitch. The God rule is there to cover anything not specifically covered by the rules. I have used the God rule twice in 34 years. The rule book (and rules supplement) may not be 100% foolproof (after all, if it were 100% foolproof we wouldn't have a need for this board). If the batter is automatically credited with a run, he can't be called out. (Well, I guess he could if he maliciously creamed the first baseman, but...)
__________________
John An ucking fidiot |
|
|||
|
Actually, he cannot in that case. There was an attempted change a couple years ago trying to make unsportsmanlike conduct by an active runner an out in ASA. It went nowhere.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne Ball into dead ball territory BR reached 1st if passing the runner at 1st. Just that it is a timing play, not a "BR did not reach 1st" out that prevents anyone from scoring. IOW, R1 might have scored from 3rd before the out (if there had been an out).
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| BB situtation | Shmuelg | Softball | 2 | Wed Apr 06, 2005 04:16am |
| Your opinions | MD Longhorn | Softball | 26 | Fri Oct 03, 2003 04:26pm |
| Opinions please | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 11 | Tue Jul 29, 2003 01:18pm |
| Opinions please. | DanIn | Softball | 12 | Mon Apr 28, 2003 11:45am |
| An interesting statement on three seconds, I look forward to your opinions | CoaachJF | Basketball | 10 | Sun Mar 02, 2003 07:47am |