The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 07, 2009, 10:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by rottiron01 View Post
...but there was no box being used lines marked....
I assume that is what you meant. As several have said, the lack of lines does not mean there is no batter's box. It only means umpire must judge the boundaries of the box.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rottiron01 View Post
...The umpires met and ruled that although the batter did step up there were no lines so they could not determine if the batter would have stepped all the way out of the box when contact with the ball was made....
This is unusual for this particular call, but, in general, the calling umpire can ask his partner for additional information, and based on that, reverse his call.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rottiron01 View Post
...The umpires ruled that: Batter gets first base, the runner on first gets third, and the runner from second scored. They used their judgment at the time the ball was picked up by the outfielder. (The outfielders did not hear the batter out call so they made a normal play on the ball.)
Sounds like they applied ASA rule 10-3-C, which is proper when a call is reversed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rottiron01 View Post
...The offensive team protests the game because they felt the umpire did not know the rule. The offensive team enden up losing by one run. Is this misinterpretation of a rule or not because they changed their call?...
When did the offensive team lodge their protest? Sounds like they protested only because they lost the game. If they waited until then to protest the game based on an earlier play, the protest is improper and should not be allowed.

And, if the "misinterpretation" being protested is changing the call, as I said above, this is allowed and provided for in the rules, so the protest should not be upheld on this basis.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rottiron01 View Post
... Can you call "out of the box" if there is no box being utilized drawn?
Yes.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Umpire Error rottiron01 Softball 26 Sun Jun 07, 2009 07:37pm
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? rpirtle Basketball 3 Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm
Umpire Error--Ruling? Young IN Ref Softball 13 Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:31am
Umpire error ? debeau Softball 1 Tue Oct 04, 2005 07:42am
Umpire Error Marty Rogers Baseball 4 Thu Apr 25, 2002 02:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1