The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 19, 2009, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW View Post
After the 3rd out is made (in error or not), is the ball not dead?
I know of an 18 Gold national Champion (Worth Firecrackers) that ALWAYS made the next play, even with two outs, so that the umpire judgment in the event of a changed call like this could never advance a runner that didn't.

That said, this can't be judged like an interference call that kills everything even one inch from the next base. If a call is reversed, 10.3-C makes clear the plate umpire is intended to use the best possible judgment to negate (rectify) the jeopardy. If the run would have absolutely scored, in the best judgment of the umpire, home should be awarded. If it is unclear what the result at home would be, put her back on third. No, Youngump (yes, I know you were being facetious, but some reader may think you were serious), you cannot assume an out.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rules Question icallfouls Baseball 8 Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:54pm
Rules Question LPK Basketball 3 Thu Jun 16, 2005 09:44am
I have an ASA FP rules question. clueless Softball 6 Mon Mar 21, 2005 01:06pm
"Tag Up" rules question jhughe90 Softball 3 Fri Mar 26, 2004 04:33pm
Rules question JoeD1 Basketball 2 Fri Nov 24, 2000 10:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1