The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjohnso8 View Post
I'm a little confused about what would happen in this situation. Any clarification would be greatly appreciated.

The bases are loaded with one out. Batter hits a dribbler back to the pitcher. Pitcher picks it up and throws to home for the force out (and out #2 in the inning). The catcher then throws it to first where the base umpire signals out (#3) immediately before the player that started on second crossed home plate. An appeal is made because the first baseman pulled her foot and the homeplate umpire overturns the third out. The umpire forces the girl (who started on second base) that was approximately 2 steps away from scoring back on third base. Is this correct?

I think the rules require that the girl starting on second would have had to already touch home plate before the third out was called but I don't know where it states that in any rules. Thanks for any help.
I smell a rat!!!!! You have to be overly exaggerating on how close R2 was to home plate. If she can get 119 feet in the amount of time it took the pitcher to throw the ball to C and C to 1B she had to have left early and the umpires missed it! I mean come on, there's no way she got that far, I would say touched 3B at best.

Sounds like someones little girl wasn't allowed to score and someone is upset!!

Last edited by Dholloway1962; Mon May 18, 2009 at 10:57pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962 View Post
I smell a rat!!!!! You have to be overly exaggerating on how close R2 was to home plate. If she can get 119 feet in the amount of time it took the pitcher to throw the ball to C and C to 1B she had to have left early and the umpires missed it! I mean come on, there's no way she got that far, I would say touched 3B at best.

Sounds like someones little girl wasn't allowed to score and someone is upset!!
Well, let's hold back the judgment for now and just see where this goes from here...
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 11:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
I'm opening the troll booth just in case...
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 19, 2009, 07:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkbjones View Post
I'm opening the troll booth just in case...
how much is the troll toll? (cant be very much... due to the increase in traffic lately)
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 21, 2009, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
how much is the troll toll? (cant be very much... due to the increase in traffic lately)
All it takes is the ignore coin.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 19, 2009, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
It is a legitimate sitch. Mr Jones, you are the batter, and from your previous descriptions of your physique, your home to first time is north of 4 seconds. Watley is on second. From the time BU sees the ball beat the foot and winds up for his out sell, a minimum of 1 1/2 seconds go by.

By this time Watley has made it to within 2 feet of home.

If BU initial ruling is safe, the run scores.

But BU rules out, and later reverses himself with the pulled foot info from PU.

So here is my question, is the run counting a judgment on the part of PU, i.e. he determines there was no way defense would have gotten the ball home in time, even with an original safe call.

Or, the fact that Watley hadn't crossed the plate by the time the batter/runner's foot touches first means by rule she must go back?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 19, 2009, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by reccer View Post
It is a legitimate sitch. Mr Jones, you are the batter, and from your previous descriptions of your physique, your home to first time is north of 4 seconds. Watley is on second. From the time BU sees the ball beat the foot and winds up for his out sell, a minimum of 1 1/2 seconds go by.

By this time Watley has made it to within 2 feet of home.

If BU initial ruling is safe, the run scores.

But BU rules out, and later reverses himself with the pulled foot info from PU.

So here is my question, is the run counting a judgment on the part of PU, i.e. he determines there was no way defense would have gotten the ball home in time, even with an original safe call.

Or, the fact that Watley hadn't crossed the plate by the time the batter/runner's foot touches first means by rule she must go back?
by what rule? "must she go back" not in my rulebook it doesn't. but then again I never read the damn things anyways. I just let the coaches tell me what the rules are.
I use my judgment all the time tho. (no wonder I stay in trouble)
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 19, 2009, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by reccer View Post
It is a legitimate sitch. Mr Jones, you are the batter, and from your previous descriptions of your physique, your home to first time is north of 4 seconds. Watley is on second. From the time BU sees the ball beat the foot and winds up for his out sell, a minimum of 1 1/2 seconds go by.

By this time Watley has made it to within 2 feet of home.

If BU initial ruling is safe, the run scores.

But BU rules out, and later reverses himself with the pulled foot info from PU.

So here is my question, is the run counting a judgment on the part of PU, i.e. he determines there was no way defense would have gotten the ball home in time, even with an original safe call.

Or, the fact that Watley hadn't crossed the plate by the time the batter/runner's foot touches first means by rule she must go back?
Again, this is where ASA 10-3-C comes into play...

Quote:
The plate umpire may rectify any situation in which the reversal of an umpire’s decision or a delayed call by an umpire places a batter-runner, a runner or the defensive team in jeopardy. This correction is not possible after one pitch legal or illegal or after the pitcher and all infielders have clearly vacated their normal fielding positions and have left fair territory on their way to the bench or dugout area, or after the last play of the game, the umpires have left the field of play.
In this case, the BU's call was the one that was reversed. As a result, this placed R2 in jeopardy, as she was still running the bases at the time of the "third out." That being the case, it's completely left up to the judgment of the PU to decide where the runners should be placed.

There were some who believed that if a runner was "more than halfway" to the next base, they should get that base. However, that's no longer the case. In this sitch, in my judgment, if the defense had no chance in hell in making a play on R2 going home, I'm awarding home. On the other hand, if, in my judgment as the PU, there probably could have been a play, the safe call would be to put R2 on 3B.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 19, 2009, 10:23am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
After the 3rd out is made (in error or not), is the ball not dead?
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 19, 2009, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
How about this...what would have (likely) happened if the "right" call was made in the first place?

The right call being that F3 did not have contact with the base before the runner touched first.

Run scores, two outs, runners on first and either second or third, next batter, please.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 19, 2009, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW View Post
After the 3rd out is made (in error or not), is the ball not dead?
I know of an 18 Gold national Champion (Worth Firecrackers) that ALWAYS made the next play, even with two outs, so that the umpire judgment in the event of a changed call like this could never advance a runner that didn't.

That said, this can't be judged like an interference call that kills everything even one inch from the next base. If a call is reversed, 10.3-C makes clear the plate umpire is intended to use the best possible judgment to negate (rectify) the jeopardy. If the run would have absolutely scored, in the best judgment of the umpire, home should be awarded. If it is unclear what the result at home would be, put her back on third. No, Youngump (yes, I know you were being facetious, but some reader may think you were serious), you cannot assume an out.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rules Question icallfouls Baseball 8 Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:54pm
Rules Question LPK Basketball 3 Thu Jun 16, 2005 09:44am
I have an ASA FP rules question. clueless Softball 6 Mon Mar 21, 2005 01:06pm
"Tag Up" rules question jhughe90 Softball 3 Fri Mar 26, 2004 04:33pm
Rules question JoeD1 Basketball 2 Fri Nov 24, 2000 10:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1