The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 15, 2005, 11:13pm
LPK LPK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
I'm not an official, just a coach, have one rules question for you all:

What is the penalty when a defensive player breaks the plane of the line during a throw-in? I had thought that it was some form of technical, but all I can find in the 2005 NCAA Rules and Interpretations is Rule 9, Section 15. So is this just basically a do-over? What if the defender does it repeatedly?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 15, 2005, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 292
First time it's a warning, each successive time it's a technical. Each team gets one warning before a technical can be called on that team.

NFHS Rule 9-2-11: "The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her person through the inbounds side of the throw-in side of the throw-in boundary-line plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.

"Penalty: The ball becomes dead when the violation or technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents of for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot.

"1. The first violation of the throw-in boundary plane by an opponent(s) of the thrower shall result in a team warning for delay being given (one warning per team per game). The warning does not result in the loss of the opportunity to move along the end line when and if applicable.

"2. The second or additional violations will result in a technical foul assessed to the offending team."

Edit: You said you looked in the NCAA rules, notice this is NFHS rules.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 16, 2005, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,579
Quote:
Originally posted by LPK
I'm not an official, just a coach, have one rules question for you all:

What is the penalty when a defensive player breaks the plane of the line during a throw-in? I had thought that it was some form of technical, but all I can find in the 2005 NCAA Rules and Interpretations is Rule 9, Section 15. So is this just basically a do-over? What if the defender does it repeatedly?

The NCAA and NFHS rules are different on this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 16, 2005, 09:44am
LPK LPK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
My teams (seniors, as in over-50's) play under NCAA rules. So I guess my memory was in some ways right, but it doesn't apply to them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1