The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 11:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
New rules

A bounding ball, first striking the ground in fair territory before passing either first or third, which passes over the bag and then strike in foul territory after passing the bag, is fair, right?

WRONG.

I mean, it wasn't even close. Hell, there was a runner would have been beheaded, or at least suffered a mildly bruised calf, if it had been foul.

Oh...and one new-to-ASA team thought chin straps were optional for ASA. AND...had already played two games in the tournament by the time they got to me.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 06:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkbjones View Post
A bounding ball, first striking the ground in fair territory before passing either first or third, which passes over the bag and then strike in foul territory after passing the bag, is fair, right?

WRONG.

I mean, it wasn't even close. Hell, there was a runner would have been beheaded, or at least suffered a mildly bruised calf, if it had been foul.
Beheaded or bruised calf? Must have been some pretty compact players. Was this the Emerald City Munchkin Nationals I've heard so much about? I understand a team has to really be on the short list to get invited to this one.

Quote:
Oh...and one new-to-ASA team thought chin straps were optional for ASA. AND...had already played two games in the tournament by the time they got to me.
Did the coach know that the only thing that was optional was his/her presence?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Was this the Emerald City Munchkin Nationals I've heard so much about? I understand a team has to really be on the short list to get invited to this one.
And to umpire those nationals, you must be a member of the Lollipop Guild.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 04:29pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkbjones View Post
And to umpire those nationals, you must be a member of the Lollipop Guild.
So the unions have run amok again?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 10:52am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkbjones View Post
A bounding ball, first striking the ground in fair territory before passing either first or third, which passes over the bag and then strike in foul territory after passing the bag, is fair, right?

WRONG.

I mean, it wasn't even close. Hell, there was a runner would have been beheaded, or at least suffered a mildly bruised calf, if it had been foul.
This pops up ALL the time in slow-pitch rec leagues. Unbelieveable how many people are ignorant of the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
I have a good new rule I learned this weekend.

R1 @ 3B bounding blooper down 3B line, R1 holding on the base - ball bounces into the runners shin (still on base and shin in fair territory) - nothing intentional or anything goofy.

Should be interference with a ball that was going to go foul, runner out, batter back to bat with a foul ball.

----------------------------------------------------------

I did invent my own rule to handle a lame protest (different situation- assistant coach) that had absolutely no merit and was only going to result in wasting time and energy and it was a 104.


"Well I want to talk to your boss. Wheres your boss at?"
"If you go looking for my boss, I'll toss you and that will give you plenty of time to find him."

It was the quickest protest reversal in history.

__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS

Last edited by wadeintothem; Wed May 20, 2009 at 11:03am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 11:03am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
I have a good new rule I learned this weekend.

R1 @ 3B bounding blooper down 3B line, R1 holding on the base - ball bounces into the runners shin (still on base and shin in fair territory) - nothing intentional or anything goofy.

Should be interference with a ball that was going to go foul, runner out, batter back to bat with a foul ball.


----------------------------------------------------------

I did invent my own rule to handle a lame protest (different situation) that had absolutely no merit and was only going to result in wasting time and energy and it was a 104.


"Well I want to talk to your boss. Wheres your boss at?"
"If you go looking for my boss, I'll toss you and that will give you plenty of time to find him."

It was the quickest protest reversal in history.

Yup, another one that comes up in the wreck leagues in slow-pitch. Sometimes those players think we blues are ucking stupid and need guidance.

Love this one. *bowing in reverence*
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,198
I had one yesterday at a freshman game. Runner on 2B and an uncaught third strike on the batter. Catcher is worried about runner going to 3B, but ultimately decided to throw to F3 to retire BR. The throw pulls F3 off the base toward home, so now she attempts to tag the BR who's right on top of her. She appeared to tag the runner on the mid-thigh and the runner's momentum caused the ball to drop to the ground. BR proceeds to 1B and now we have runners on first and third.

DC comes out and asks for time wondering "What happened?!" Someone from his dugout said "She dropped the ball." So now armed with this information, he approached me and said, "Blue, I don't think there is anything in the rules stating how long a player has to hold the ball, like one-mississippi, two-mississippi."

I gave him an inquiring look and said, "I think you're right coach. I don't recall seeing anything like that." His eyes widen in anticipation. I continued, "However, I do recall a passage about the ball being securely held by a fielder. The drop occurred immediately after contact so the runner is safe."

He thanked me politely and returned to the dugout.

Ted
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
I, sadly, once had an umpire ask this of me (I may have mentioned this one before)...

"If a fly ball goes past 3B in fair territory, then curves foul, isn't that a fair ball?"

*groan*
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
I, sadly, once had an umpire ask this of me (I may have mentioned this one before)...

"If a fly ball goes past 3B in fair territory, then curves foul, isn't that a fair ball?"

*groan*
Doesn't that depend on the score and inning?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post

I did invent my own rule to handle a lame protest (different situation- assistant coach) that had absolutely no merit and was only going to result in wasting time and energy and it was a 104.


"Well I want to talk to your boss. Wheres your boss at?"
"If you go looking for my boss, I'll toss you and that will give you plenty of time to find him."

It was the quickest protest reversal in history.

Was it because he used bad grammar? Or was he a jerk?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuggBob View Post
Was it because he used bad grammar? Or was he a jerk?
My guess is Door #2.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
I, sadly, once had an umpire ask this of me (I may have mentioned this one before)...

"If a fly ball goes past 3B in fair territory, then curves foul, isn't that a fair ball?"

*groan*
well?? is it?
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2009, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuggBob View Post
Was it because he used bad grammar? Or was he a jerk?
ah he wasnt too bad.. when he saw homey dont play that he got in his cage and we were best buddies forever more. He believed he could coach his team from the stands.. so he was squawking, yelling at his players etc and generally irritating me..but lo - I noticed he was wearing the same shirt as other coaches.. so between innings I asked him if he was a coach.. he said "yes".. well to the cage you go then... He insisted it was legal to coach from there and he does it all the time .. (probably does, but not that day) and blah blah blah.. well let me talk to your boss then... I dont think so...
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There are no rules and those are the rules. NCAA JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Sat Feb 07, 2004 11:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1