The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald View Post
It states that the runner may not return to touch a base left too soon or a missed base once the runner has advanced to the "next awarded base."

So if batter runner misses first base, between 1b and 2b when ball leaves fielder's fingers and on 2b when it goes out of play, what is the ruling? Has he already advanced to the next awarded base (he/she will be awarded 3b and is on the next awarded base. That is what I understand at this point) or can he go back and retouch?

In Federation he/she is SOL.

Thanks.
That is why we are told to hesitate and observe the runner's reactions prior to announcing "awarded bases", but I understand your question which is one of the reasons I posted the proper wording even though the difference as it pertains to the actual rule and mechanic is the semantics.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touching The Rim?? jmaellis Basketball 3 Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:02pm
Touching in reverse order... TussAgee11 Baseball 15 Sun Sep 16, 2007 11:48am
Touching the bases DIV2ump Baseball 5 Mon May 08, 2006 02:43pm
running bases in reverse order hey blue Softball 7 Mon Jul 15, 2002 11:50am
Touching the bag Brent Baseball 2 Mon Jun 18, 2001 10:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1