The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 19, 2009, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Do you see "teammates holler and she turns around" as a LBR second stop if she stops to hear the hollering and then "heads back towards 1b"?
No, I see that as her one stop. Turning around after overrunning isn't a stop, because the rule requires her to turn around and she still has not indicated which way she is going.

Secondarily (and much less of a factor in my initial thoughts, but still pertinent as I flesh out my thinking), once she has returned between first and home, and reinstated the "force", has she not also reinstated "not yet reached first base" status? If so, then the LBR cannot apply.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 19, 2009, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Steve, it was Ball 4, you still have a force?

Either you have her out for leaving the base while the ball is in the circle, or you call time and put her on first. Either way, you have a player being goofy and you will have to deal with a coach.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 19, 2009, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
Steve, it was Ball 4, you still have a force?

Either you have her out for leaving the base while the ball is in the circle, or you call time and put her on first. Either way, you have a player being goofy and you will have to deal with a coach.
Like most of you, I am thinking of this as I go, so I need some time to think out the force part. What I am most certain of is I don't have an out for leaving a base, anymore than I would the runner that continues past any other base without stopping.

But, I know she is on jeopardy, having gone past the status of legally overrunning; and I believe she reinstated the status of "not yet reached first. I am positive I would be thinking that on a batted ball, and don't think that she is walked changes her BR status. My next conclusion is she must be in jeopardy, but since no "force" exists on the ball 4 awrded base, that must be a case where we cannot "reinstate" that which didn't exist before.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 19, 2009, 06:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Exact same scenario as posted occurred in NCAA WCWS a few years ago. Runner out on LBR.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runner Passes Another Runner on HR Dholloway1962 Softball 13 Sat Jul 19, 2008 12:41am
Pinch runner for a courtesy runner? jwwashburn Softball 17 Wed May 02, 2007 01:43pm
Runner hit by batted ball, scoring runner, batter wfwbb Baseball 12 Sat Jul 17, 2004 03:12pm
Runner helping other runner BMGregory Baseball 1 Thu May 08, 2003 03:43pm
runner passing another runner shipwreck Softball 2 Sun Apr 07, 2002 11:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1