The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 25, 2009, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eau Claire,WI
Posts: 16
obstruction

Runner on 2nd. Batter-runner rounds 1st base and is obstructed returning to 1st. (A) BR touches 1st.(B) BR does not touch 1st. At the same time the throw to cutoff is overthrown. Catcher picks up ball and fires to third attempting to pick off R2 rounding 3rd. R2 is safe, F5 throws to second for an out on the BR attempting to advance to 2nd. NCAA ruling for (A) and (B)
__________________
DJ
NFHS ASA ISC NAFA NCAA AFA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 25, 2009, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0balls2strikes View Post
Runner on 2nd. Batter-runner rounds 1st base and is obstructed returning to 1st. (A) BR touches 1st.(B) BR does not touch 1st. At the same time the throw to cutoff is overthrown. Catcher picks up ball and fires to third attempting to pick off R2 rounding 3rd. R2 is safe, F5 throws to second for an out on the BR attempting to advance to 2nd. NCAA ruling for (A) and (B)
The touch or no touch of the base is irrelevant. 9.4.2.3 states that a fielder shall not obstruct a runner rounding or returning to a base. The effect states, in essence, the offender shall be warned, the coach notified, and each subsequent violation shall result in a base award to the OBS runner.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 25, 2009, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eau Claire,WI
Posts: 16
skahtboi, so the batter-runner is out at second then? I came up with this situation off of A.R. 9.3.7 and added a few other elements.
__________________
DJ
NFHS ASA ISC NAFA NCAA AFA
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 25, 2009, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,415
1) Doesn't this end up with the BR not being put out between 1st & 2nd, so if ITUJ would have made 2nd, the runner is awarded 2nd.
2) Isn't the rule about rounding/returning ("the offender shall be warned, the coach notified, and each subsequent violation ") about ejection on any cases after a warning?
3) If the miss of 1st is appealed, the BR put out as not reaching 1st, so the OBS penalty (not being put out between 1st & 2nd) would not apply.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 25, 2009, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eau Claire,WI
Posts: 16
Just to clarify the runner touched first initially. Its after the obstruction while returning to first am i talking about (A)touching first again after obstruction (B) no touching of first after obstruction.

Yes if in ituj the BR would have made 2nd had the obstruction not occured you can award 2nd but since the BR is obstructed returning to 1st it would be a hard sell awarding 2nd.
__________________
DJ
NFHS ASA ISC NAFA NCAA AFA
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 26, 2009, 01:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0balls2strikes View Post
Runner on 2nd. Batter-runner rounds 1st base and is obstructed returning to 1st. (A) BR touches 1st.(B) BR does not touch 1st. At the same time the throw to cutoff is overthrown. Catcher picks up ball and fires to third attempting to pick off R2 rounding 3rd. R2 is safe, F5 throws to second for an out on the BR attempting to advance to 2nd. NCAA ruling for (A) and (B)
I am working on the assumption that A and B relates to the returning to first base after the obstruction and the umpire is protecting the runner to first base.

NCAA 9.3.3.1 The obstructed runner, after being obstructed, safely obtains the base she would have been awarded, in the umpires judgement, had there been no obstruction and there is a subsequent play on a different runner. The obstructed runner is no longer protectedif she leaves the base.

Therefore in (A) the runner is not longer protected and out, in (B) the runner is protected and not out.

Yes a rounding and returning warning would be given and the NCAA 9.4.2.3 penalty an subsequent violations by the same individual shall result in a one-base award to the obstructed runner and any other runner forced to advance.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 26, 2009, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eau Claire,WI
Posts: 16
Thank you mgkblue!! that was exactly the interpretation that i had of that ruling with the situation! i was looking for someone else to interpret it the same way i was. LOL
__________________
DJ
NFHS ASA ISC NAFA NCAA AFA
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 26, 2009, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0balls2strikes View Post
Yes if in ituj the BR would have made 2nd had the obstruction not occured you can award 2nd but since the BR is obstructed returning to 1st it would be a hard sell awarding 2nd.
I visualized " F5 throws to second for an out on the BR attempting to advance to 2nd" as a close enough play that the OBS kept BR from starting her advance on the throw to 3rd, meaning that an umpire could judge she would have made it w/o the OBS.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction or not? dddunn3d Baseball 4 Sun Jul 18, 2004 09:09pm
ASA new obstruction DaveASA/FED Softball 14 Fri Jul 02, 2004 11:56am
Obstruction sprivitor Softball 6 Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:19pm
Obstruction at FB? Saltydog Baseball 1 Sat Jun 12, 2004 08:07pm
Obstruction or an out? Rachel Softball 6 Mon Apr 14, 2003 04:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1