The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
In the OP, the appeal came after the tag out. While not stated very clearly, the tag was apparently just a tag, not a live ball appeal.
Get new glasses and take the events in order offered
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Get new glasses and take the events in order offered
OK, but I guess I need something besides new glasses...
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
(1)R1 misses 3B enroute to the plate,
(2)but realizes he will be put out
(3)and reverses direction.
(4)While attempting to return to 3B, R1 is obstructed
(5)and tagged out by F5.
(6)Defense immediately appeals the runner missing 3B.
What in there implies the tag was a live ball appeal?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
OK, but I guess I need something besides new glasses...
What in there implies the tag was a live ball appeal?
It doesn't and never meant to insinuate a live ball appeal. You are reading into it.

The status of the appeal is actually determined by the actions of defense and the manner in which the umpire addresses the play
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to pollywolly60
On proper appeal of runner missing 3rd base, the runner is out.

( see RS 36 )
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
If the umpire had indicated the delayed dead ball, immediately upon the tag it should be a dead ball situation and the runner who was obstructed awarded any base the umpire deemed they would have reached. In this case, he was headed back to 3rd when obstructed, so I would have awarded 3rd. I would not have recognized any appeal by the defense until the base had been awarded, and in this case the runner was returned to third, negating the missed base.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
It doesn't and never meant to insinuate a live ball appeal. You are reading into it.

The status of the appeal is actually determined by the actions of defense and the manner in which the umpire addresses the play
I never said it was a live ball appeal; I said it apparently was not, but the situation as stated left room for some doubt.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 10:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I never said it was a live ball appeal; I said it apparently was not,
Then why did you post this? You are the only one to mention it.

What in there implies the tag was a ball appeal? [/quote]

Quote:
but the situation as stated left room for some doubt.
I don't think so.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I don't think so.
Whatever, man. A tag can be a live ball appeal, and is not normally verbalized. My assumption was you were describing a dead ball appeal, but the "immediately" left room for doubt that the defense was explaining the tag. I only stated the doubt since you have been known to post trick questions before.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Mon Feb 09, 2009 at 10:54am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Whatever, man. A tag can be a live ball appeal, and is not normally verbalized. My assumption was you were describing a dead ball appeal, but the "immediately" left room for doubt that the defense was explaining the tag. I only stated the doubt since you have been known to post trick questions before.
Let's change the OP to make it a live ball appeal, tagging the obstructed runner. Would you treat the result differently?

RS 36 says (in part), relative to an obstructed runner being played on for a running violation, " If the runner would not have made it back ... prior to the throw arriving, the runner remains out." So, it appears the "exceptions" aren't intended to be applied in every case, but we are to judge if the result of the obstruction kept the obstructed runner from correcting the violation, and rule in a manner consistent with other obstructions, that we award what we judge would be the result had there been no obstruction.

In this altered play, the runner is obstructed trying to return, and tagged out on a live ball appeal. While perhaps not an absolute, my conclusion would be that the obstruction without the ball means the same player later tagging her kept her from safely returning, and I am still awarding her 3rd. The mechanic is that I am signalling (calling) DDB when the obstruction is observed, and DB when the tag is applied, no matter if it a live ball appeal OR a simple tag attempt. I am awarding the runner 3rd, and once she has completed her running responsibilities (and is standing on 3rd), any subsequent dead ball can then be considered (and would be denied).

As explained to me, the general scenario intended by the exceptions is to not completely protect a runner who is obstructed when advancing, and still put out when realizing she needed to return for a missed base, or one left early. In some cases, the obstruction even helped the runner's opportunity to return (she had less distance to cover in return), so the decision should still be based on what the calling umpire judges would have happened if there were no obstruction. If the obstruction didn't affect the result, keep the out; if the runner would have safely returned, then keep the protection.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When the obvious call isn't the right call Don Mueller Baseball 28 Mon Aug 20, 2007 01:46am
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1