Thread: What's the Call
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 02:16pm
RKBUmp RKBUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
If the umpire had indicated the delayed dead ball, immediately upon the tag it should be a dead ball situation and the runner who was obstructed awarded any base the umpire deemed they would have reached. In this case, he was headed back to 3rd when obstructed, so I would have awarded 3rd. I would not have recognized any appeal by the defense until the base had been awarded, and in this case the runner was returned to third, negating the missed base.
Reply With Quote