![]() |
|
|
|||
What's the Call
ASA
Runner on 2B. Ball is hit to the shallow right field. R1 misses 3B enroute to the plate, but realizes he will be put out and reverses direction. While attempting to return to 3B, R1 is obstructed and tagged out by F5. Defense immediately appeals the runner missing 3B. |
|
|||
Well...since runners should be given an opportunity to complete their base running responsibilities, I guess we should hesistate to see what the runner does before awarding the base we thought they would have attained had the OBS not occurred. If they return to third, assume the retouch and then make your award (which for me would probably be the base they are currently standing on.) If they get up and scurry home, then honor the appeal.
I know with you there is a catch somewhere, so I will patiently wait and see what other answers are given.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Under rule supplement 36 the umpire will need to judge whether the runner committed another violation and that violation is being played upon.
The example given in the rule supplement is as follows: A runner leaving second base too soon on a fly ball is returning after the ball is caught and is obstructed between second and thrid base. If the runner would not have made it back to second base prior to the throw arriving, the runner remains out. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
OK, but I guess I need something besides new glasses...
What in there implies the tag was a live ball appeal?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
In this case, I think it is obvious the runner was obstructed returning to 3B, so the award would most likely be 3B. Quote:
Also, B2 would be awarded any bases the umpire believes the BR/R would have reached had there been no OBS. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
When the obvious call isn't the right call | Don Mueller | Baseball | 28 | Mon Aug 20, 2007 01:46am |
The right call or the correct call? | Nevadaref | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am |
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |