![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
However, knowing that the writers of the ASA Rule Book are not paragons of Vulcan-level logic, I suspect this self-contradiction is (probably) not intended. This leaves us with 3 alternatives for the rule: 1) ASA considers any fielder attempting to field a batted ball to be making a play, hence the interference call is valid, hence the BR / B is out, or 2) It is interference at the time of the contact (since the status of the ball is not yet determined), but the penalty for interference is not enforced because the act of interference itself defined the status of the ball as foul. 3) ASA is using the term "interferes with" sloppily and merely means generically impedes, rather than commits a defined act of interference. Whichever way, the rule book has issues with this scenario.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
You could come up with even more than those three possible alternatives if you wanted to stretch it further, but only one reasonably passes muster. 1. ASA defines a "Play"; in fact, that definition is newly added in 2007. It doesn't include this interpretation, so it isn't that. 2. Since ASA requires a "Play" to have the act of "Interference" that results in the penalty out, and at the moment of contact the definition establishes a foul ball, so there is no "Play", there isn't a penalty out to be enforced. It isn't "not enforced", there isn't one to enforce. 3. Ding-ding-ding!!! The remaining alternative is clearly the winner of the alternative ruling contest. This rule definition (Foul Ball D) misuses the word "interferes" when defined "Interference" cannot be the result. If you simply accept that conclusion (your #3), all else works together, and there are no contradictions in the Rules 1, 7 and 8 in this play, as you previously stated; and Rule 10 application isn't necessary
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
"Ding, ding"
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
The rules to cover this scenario are in place, and as previously noted, must be considered as a whole, not in selected portions. This is one reason why allowing coaches onto the field with a rule book is discouraged. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
However, given the other situations where a runner can forfeit protection by a base running violation, I can readily see how even diligent umpires could come to the conclusion that the BR is out due to interference. Or, since interference is not possible, ignore the contact altogether. Either is a reasonable view of the rules as a whole, and both are wrong.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Whats the call | justcallmeblue | Softball | 28 | Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:50am |
Whats the call? | veg4 | Baseball | 1 | Mon Aug 15, 2005 01:15pm |
whats the call? | wilkey1979 | Basketball | 7 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 09:03am |
Whats the call? | Ricejock | Softball | 2 | Sat Apr 20, 2002 10:24am |
Another ASA whats the call | Gulf Coast Blue | Softball | 3 | Sat Feb 03, 2001 11:29am |