![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
However, knowing that the writers of the ASA Rule Book are not paragons of Vulcan-level logic, I suspect this self-contradiction is (probably) not intended. This leaves us with 3 alternatives for the rule: 1) ASA considers any fielder attempting to field a batted ball to be making a play, hence the interference call is valid, hence the BR / B is out, or 2) It is interference at the time of the contact (since the status of the ball is not yet determined), but the penalty for interference is not enforced because the act of interference itself defined the status of the ball as foul. 3) ASA is using the term "interferes with" sloppily and merely means generically impedes, rather than commits a defined act of interference. Whichever way, the rule book has issues with this scenario.
__________________
Tom |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Whats the call | justcallmeblue | Softball | 28 | Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:50am |
Whats the call? | veg4 | Baseball | 1 | Mon Aug 15, 2005 01:15pm |
whats the call? | wilkey1979 | Basketball | 7 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 09:03am |
Whats the call? | Ricejock | Softball | 2 | Sat Apr 20, 2002 10:24am |
Another ASA whats the call | Gulf Coast Blue | Softball | 3 | Sat Feb 03, 2001 11:29am |