The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2008, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
If you are an umpire with any experience, you know INT or OBS when you see it, just like you know a bunt or a batter looking to get hit when you see it.
Well then my vote goes to HTBT.... coz the OP doesn't give me the detail i need.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2008, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
Well then my vote goes to HTBT.... coz the OP doesn't give me the detail i need.
Maybe.

Maybe not.

The OP tells you the catcher had a play. It tells you that as the catcher came up trying to make a throw, the batter moved in a manner which caused contact which is active and hindering.

Intent is irrelevent.

If I'm a UIC and a coach protested the umpire's ruling, given this information, I would probably rule this as INT. Remove the fact that there was definitely a play, and I go to "no call". That's the bad part about being a UIC. You are only given a scenario and need to make a decision based solely on that. If you actually saw the play, you are a lucky UIC.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2008, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
Well then my vote goes to HTBT.... coz the OP doesn't give me the detail i need.
The OP does not give you an instant reply for you to make an INDEPENDENT judgment, but the OP clearly gives you the judgment made... the batter-runner stepped back and then stepped forward and collided with F2 who was attempting a throw. IF you had seen the play, THEN you could argue the judgment stated was not correct. But, without seeing the play, you are left with the judgment stated.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2008, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
"relied" as past tense of rely, or re-lied, as in telling the lie again?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
I was all ready to chime in with agreement on the INT out since B1 was now a BR, until I read 8-2-F-1.

"BATTER-RUNNER IS OUT.

F. When the batter-runner interferes with:

3. a thrown ball while out of the batter's box."

I agree that if in PU's judgement F2 was about to make a throw than the throw need not be completed to have an INT call, but the language of this rule seems to indicate the a BR does still have some protection as long as they are still in the friendly confines of the batter's box.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 15, 2008, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
UmpireErnie,

You quote of the rule does not appy here. We are dealing with the actions of the BR in the batter's box (Dakota). The OP makes it quite clear that active and hindering action took place. The call should be immediate: DB, that's interference by the BR and return R1 top 2B.

IrishMafia wrote an OP that was quite clear with little doubt (in my mind) as to what the ruling should be. I am unsure as to why some had a difficult time in assessing this play. It is a play that we need to be aware of and be ready to call. And do not forget about Altump's point of the catcher initiating contact (there are still some out there that do that).

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Ron,

I agree. The BR is out for interferring with an attempt to throw which is in ASA 8-2-F-2, litterally the sentance above the one I quoted.

The rule I was questioning, 8-2-F-3 would apply if F2 had actually made a throw and the ball was interferred with in flight. In that case, if the throw hit the BR while she was still in the box the ruling would be live ball play on unless the umpire judged that the BR intentionally interferred with the thrown ball.

Ernie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
batters interference/interference by teammate _Bruno_ Baseball 7 Mon Apr 07, 2008 07:28am
Another Interference ? debeau Softball 1 Thu Nov 02, 2006 01:19pm
Interference? ump66 Baseball 4 Mon Sep 25, 2006 01:43pm
Runner interference versus umpire interference Jay R Baseball 1 Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:00pm
Interference granny Softball 11 Fri Jun 21, 2002 08:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1