![]() |
Interference or Nothing?
ASA
R1 on 2B, full count on RH batter. On a delayed steal, R1 attempts to reach 3B. The pitch is called ball four. Staying in the BB, the BR steps back and tosses the bat toward 3B dugout. As she turns and steps toward 1B, the catcher pops up and bumps into BR trying to make a throw to get R1, but does not throw the ball. For your ruling, assume the C had a viable play on R1. What, if any, call is there to be made at this point? |
Steps back in or out of the batter's box??? Just curious. :D
|
I would have to say nothing based on the fact that she is moving toward 1B and the stepping back/tossing of the bat was prior to the bump.
|
Since the point of this is to dissect the play and make (or not) a call, I won't take the easy way and say HTBT to see the play. :)
As a general rule of thumb, I would want to see the catcher attempt to throw the ball before I will rule interference. Since F2 did not throw the ball, I don't see an interference call here. I'm not going to try to read her mind as to whether she intended to throw and pulled up or was just faking a throw. As a second point, is the B/R really interferring? With ball four, her status has changed from a batter to a batter/runner, does this take away the "protection" of being in the BB? From the description, I don't envision the B/R doing anything she should not be doing. I would expect her to drop her bat and move toward first base. Would this play be similar to a bunt in front of the plate with F2 coming out to play the bunt and B/R running to first and they get tangled? I don't have access to the book here at work...I'm leaning toward a no call here. |
My first reaction was no call, like the others here, but as stated, she is a BR, not a batter. We do have this rule:
8-2-F-2 Quote:
Was the catcher attempting to throw? As stated, yes. Did the BR interfere? As stated, yes. If you're looking for a definitive act of interference, she stepped back and then forward, she didn't just move forward toward 1B. |
Quote:
As described this sounds like interference, a runner moved into the space the catcher needed to make the throw. The catcher wisely didn't throw the ball since that would have resulted in an errant throw given the interference and the catcher wasn't sure the umpire would call it. Why would we need a throw to have interference, she had a play and couldn't make it because the batter interfered. ________ Bong review |
Quote:
|
Quote:
"Staying in the BB, the BR steps back and tosses the bat toward 3B dugout." |
I would call Dead ball, BR called out, return R1 to 2b.
|
Quote:
Assuming the viable play, then I will have to go with Tom and say that yes, there is interference based on the rule he quoted. No throw is required. |
I had a game last week. Batter called out on third strike. R1 on 2b stealing 3b on pitch. recently called out batter steps back into the catcher causing the throw to go into left field. What is your call?
|
Mike:
FP or SP w/ stealing? |
Quote:
R1's now out also. ASA 8-7-P |
Not any of this should be hard.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47am. |