The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 07:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Catcher not returning ball to pitcher

ASA punishes the defense with an IP (NCAA awards a ball to the batter and a warning for the 1st offense) when a catcher loses the count and erroneously throws the ball around when the bases are empty. Three questions:

1. Why is the rule in place?

2. Why is there no penalty when the batter takes off to first after ball 3?

3. Why the IP in ASA when the penalty amounts to the same as NCAA - a ball on the batter?

Maybe this has come up before on this board. If so, pardon my ignorance.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Well I don't have my ASA book handy, but I thought it was a ball on the batter in ASA as well?

Now that I thought a minute, it's not an IP but it is a ball on the batter. I guess one could say it has the same effect as an IP (ball on batter) as this situation can only occur with no one on base. Therefore it is only a ball and no bases are awarded.

Last edited by Dholloway1962; Thu Nov 13, 2008 at 08:34pm. Reason: added 2nd paragraph
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 08:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
ASA punishes the defense with an IP (NCAA awards a ball to the batter and a warning for the 1st offense) when a catcher loses the count and erroneously throws the ball around when the bases are empty. Three questions:

1. Why is the rule in place?

2. Why is there no penalty when the batter takes off to first after ball 3?

3. Why the IP in ASA when the penalty amounts to the same as NCAA - a ball on the batter?

Maybe this has come up before on this board. If so, pardon my ignorance.
Why not ask the ASA home office?

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 08:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
ASA punishes the defense with an IP (NCAA awards a ball to the batter and a warning for the 1st offense) when a catcher loses the count and erroneously throws the ball around when the bases are empty. Three questions:

1. Why is the rule in place?

2. Why is there no penalty when the batter takes off to first after ball 3?

3. Why the IP in ASA when the penalty amounts to the same as NCAA - a ball on the batter?

Maybe this has come up before on this board. If so, pardon my ignorance.
I'm pretty sure its "cuz."
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluezebra View Post
Why not ask the ASA home office?

Bob
They won't return my calls. Go figure.

I guess the question is not specific to ASA. I am just curious why any code would punish the defense and not the offense for a similar act. Actually, with runners on base, I have seen the offense end up with stolen bases when the batter heads to 1st before ball 4. I don't see any real harm to the offense when a catcher doesn't return the ball directly to the pitcher. Hopefully one of the "home office" guys on this board can enlighten me as to ASA's take on this.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
They won't return my calls. Go figure.
Maybe because they know it is not an IP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
ASA punishes the defense with an IP (NCAA awards a ball to the batter and a warning for the 1st offense) when a catcher loses the count and erroneously throws the ball around when the bases are empty. Three questions:

1. Why is the rule in place?
It is not an IP

Quote:
2. Why is there no penalty when the batter takes off to first after ball 3?
Because there is no violation

Quote:
3. Why the IP in ASA when the penalty amounts to the same as NCAA - a ball on the batter?
Again, it is not an IP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Maybe because they know it is not an IP

6-7.b and effect begs to differ, but that's really just splitting hairs. Do you have any idea as to why the seemingly one-sided rule is used?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 09:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
6-7.b and effect begs to differ, but that's really just splitting hairs. Do you have any idea as to why the seemingly one-sided rule is used?
Look guy, one day a bunch of dudes sat around with iced tap water, cute matching shirts, and old coffee and talked about rules and they passed some rules and those are the rules. Some you agree with, some you dont. We do our job.

WTF over?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
Look guy, one day a bunch of dudes sat around with iced tap water, cute matching shirts, and old coffee and talked about rules and they passed some rules and those are the rules. Some you agree with, some you dont. We do our job.

WTF over?
It's a harmless question "guy". If this is the best answer you can fashion, maybe you should read more and type less.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
6-7.b and effect begs to differ, but that's really just splitting hairs. Do you have any idea as to why the seemingly one-sided rule is used?
It is not splitting hairs, it is you not reading the Effect below 6.8

It reads EFFECT - Sections 1-5, 7A and 8:

You might notice that this does not include 6.7.B
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
It's a harmless question "guy". If this is the best answer you can fashion, maybe you should read more and type less.
Ya know, I think I will do the same. Not hard to delete posts, not that they would be missed. Ciao!
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 09:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
It is not splitting hairs, it is you not reading the Effect below 6.8

It reads EFFECT - Sections 1-5, 7A and 8:

You might notice that this does not include 6.7.B
My mistake. The rule book next to my computer is from '05 and says EFFECT - Sections 1-8. Sorry.

My other question still stands.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by topper View Post
It's a harmless question "guy". If this is the best answer you can fashion, maybe you should read more and type less.
HA! Says the guy who didnt read the rule book before he posted the question.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 13, 2008, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
HA! Says the guy who didnt read the rule book before he posted the question.
Whatever.

Let's start over.

Why would any code punish the defense and not the offense for a similar act such as this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
college catcher warming up pitcher shipwreck Softball 15 Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:50am
Catcher sues baserunner for collision (co-ed ball) Dakota Softball 32 Thu Apr 19, 2007 01:14pm
catcher stepping and meeting the ball fastballbaker Baseball 1 Wed Oct 20, 2004 09:58am
Runner Knocks Ball From Catcher James V Softball 25 Tue Jun 15, 2004 08:47pm
Ball 4 Deflects off the Catcher GerryBlue Baseball 4 Mon Jul 28, 2003 02:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1