The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 25, 2008, 07:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukumpire View Post
Play - (all rather easy until...) Runner from 3rd comes into home whilst the catcher is receiving/in position with the ball all under control. Runner makes a perfectly good slide into home plate and gets tagged within an inch or 2 of the hp.
I take my usual second, or 2, before throwing an out, only to see that the slide of the runner into hp has removed the mitt with the ball inside from the catcher's hand.
With the whole movement still ongoing the runner slides across hp.
{when the mitt came off the catcher, she picks up the mitt with the ball still inside the web, which is lying right in front of her, and holds it in the air}

My Call - Safe, based on the 'lost control ruling'
The head coach calls time and discusses the play, insisting that when the tag was made, control was kept (I silently agree!) it was only when the catcher pulled her arm away after making the tag that the mitt came off the hand (I agree)
But then I let him know, that in my judgement and opionion, the movement of pulling the arm away is still part of the tag phrase and by losing the mitt control was not kept for the whole process of the tag!
Speaking ASA.

Spencer, we beat this to death sometime in the past year. Some still disagree, but the basic rule which I believe is supported by ASA's case book, is that if you (umpire) judge that the player controlled the ball at the time of the tag and then lost possession during subsequent play, the player should be ruled out. If during the application of the tag, the player loses control of the ball, then the runner has not been put out.

Many want to argue that it was not a voluntary release, so it cannot be an out. However, a voluntary release is NOT a requirement in establishing a tag.

Granted, this is a judgment call, but the standard you set for a tag is not the same as the ASA rule book. ISF did (and may still) have the wording that the player must maintain control immediately after the tagging action. Now the question is, define immediately. Is it a nanosecond, 2 seconds, 10 seconds, 2 minutes, etc.

If I could tell the catcher did not lose the ball until after establishing a tag, which in ASA only requires the ball to be securely held in the hand or glove while applying the tag, I would have ruled the runner out.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Plate Stripes33 Softball 2 Mon Aug 07, 2006 10:27am
OBS at home plate (again!) Antonella Softball 5 Thu Aug 04, 2005 03:53pm
Coed slopitch and the plate line vs home plate SactoBlue Softball 14 Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:42am
home plate coachz Softball 13 Tue Jul 29, 2003 03:15pm
Home Plate bladeoperator Softball 8 Wed May 28, 2003 08:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1