View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 25, 2008, 07:43am
azbigdawg azbigdawg is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: In the Desert....
Posts: 826
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Speaking ASA.

Spencer, we beat this to death sometime in the past year. Some still disagree, but the basic rule which I believe is supported by ASA's case book, is that if you (umpire) judge that the player controlled the ball at the time of the tag and then lost possession during subsequent play, the player should be ruled out. If during the application of the tag, the player loses control of the ball, then the runner has not been put out.

Many want to argue that it was not a voluntary release, so it cannot be an out. However, a voluntary release is NOT a requirement in establishing a tag.

Granted, this is a judgment call, but the standard you set for a tag is not the same as the ASA rule book. ISF did (and may still) have the wording that the player must maintain control immediately after the tagging action. Now the question is, define immediately. Is it a nanosecond, 2 seconds, 10 seconds, 2 minutes, etc.

If I could tell the catcher did not lose the ball until after establishing a tag, which in ASA only requires the ball to be securely held in the hand or glove while applying the tag, I would have ruled the runner out.
What whitey said..... out!
Reply With Quote