![]() |
|
|||
|
Speaking USSSA (back to the OP)
NFHS CASE BOOK
8.1.1 SITUATION F: With two outs, the bases loaded and a three-and-two count on B6, the next pitch is a wild pitch. R1 begins advancing to home. R2, on second base, is off with the pitch. She rounds third base, but is caught off the base by an excellent throw by F2 for the third out. R1 had not touched home when R2 was tagged out at third. RULING: R1 was awarded home as soon as the fourth ball was declared. Consequently, as soon as R1 touches the plate, her run counts. (8-4-3a Effect) USSSA 2007 CASE BOOK BALL FOUR SITUATION C: With two outs, the bases loaded and a three-and-two count on B6, the next pitch is a wild pitch. R1 begins advancing to home. R2, on second base, is off with the pitch. She rounds third base, but is caught off the base by an excellent throw by F6 for the third out. R1 had not touched home when R2 was tagged out at third. RULING: R1 became entitled to home as soon as ball four was declared. Consequently, as soon as R1 touches the plate, her run counts. (9-15-D-4) Looks like U-trip copied the NFHS rule verbatim, except for the use of the change of "was awarded home" to "became entitled to" in the last sentence.
__________________
Scott C. NFHS USSSA |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Score the run | soundedlikeastrike | Baseball | 73 | Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:51pm |
| Score Out? | soclueless | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 12, 2007 02:59pm |
| How do you score it? | bigdave622 | Softball | 8 | Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:59am |
| How do you score this? | BigUmpJohn | Softball | 4 | Sun Jun 15, 2003 03:44pm |
| Does the run score? | 18597 | Softball | 4 | Sat Sep 07, 2002 09:03am |