![]() |
|
|||
I'm aware of the statements in "Effect" and RS39. I believe that ASA's statements "the ball is live" and "the ball remains live" would be more accurately worded "if the ball is live at the time of the infraction, it remains live." Otherwise, why insert "while the ball is live" into 8-7-E?
If a ball goes out of play and the umpire sees a runner pass another, s/he doesn't automatically declare the ball live at that point. Obviously not. I didn't say that a dead ball becomes live when a runner passes another. The umpire does declare the passing runner out, though. R1 on 1B. Batter hits a low liner that caroms off F3's foot and into DBT. BR subsequently passes R1 between 1B and 2B. I'm calling the BR out. If memory serves, the ASA case book (unfortunately not accessible to me at the moment) gives at least one example of a play in which a runner is called out for passing another runner when the ball is dead.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Score the run | soundedlikeastrike | Baseball | 73 | Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:51pm |
Score Out? | soclueless | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 12, 2007 02:59pm |
How do you score it? | bigdave622 | Softball | 8 | Thu Apr 28, 2005 07:59am |
How do you score this? | BigUmpJohn | Softball | 4 | Sun Jun 15, 2003 03:44pm |
Does the run score? | 18597 | Softball | 4 | Sat Sep 07, 2002 09:03am |