![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
I know you will make me make a case for my point so....I think demonstrating control of a tag involves the same issue, did they control the ball. If they have a voluntarily release, no doubt they had control. If they drop the ball, such as on a tag, it is impossible to know at exactly what point they began to lose possession/control. It could have been immediately when tag was applied or not. Also, could one make the case that F6, in this scenario, actually had caught the ball, assuming a throw from another fielder, and did not have a voluntary release? Same thing if she caught the batted ball and ran the runner back? Last edited by Dholloway1962; Sun Jun 08, 2008 at 08:54pm. |
|
|||
I think I would have to see an out on this call. Rule or nuance or not.. in general drop = safe.
If I'm gonna sell a "out" on this play, and take the heat to sell "out" on a dropped ball.. there has better have been some dancing ballerina type control displayed before the trip and drop of the ball. If there is even a hint of a question of control = safe.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
From the way I am reading the OP, I believe that I will have to side with Mike on this one. It sounds as if there was no question of control as the play was made, simply that she lost the ball when she fell. From what I am reading this sounds like an out.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
Splain to me how you got from someone in a situation where they apply the tag, trip and drop the ball to a fielder dropping it on the transfer. Hey one thing you gotta love about a mens game.. they are smart enough that EVERYTHING is on the transfer... no matter what they did, they start yelling "it was on the transfer" Is that whatchoo talkin bout?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
That, in my opinion, is a bit different than a catcher completing the tag, while still in control of the ball, and then tripping over a bat, mask or retired runner after we have seen that she did indeed maintain control of the ball during act of tagging the runner.
__________________
Dan |
|
|||
Quote:
But... I've got one for you. Bases loaded, no outs. Batter hits squib to F1, who eventually picks it up and throws it home. The F2 catches the ball and immediately tries to tag R1 (DMC, but it was 10U) who is arriving at the plate and the ball comes loose. Ball got there first, but the tag attempt was immediate, so I couldn't be 100% sure of control. Give them the force or not?
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn... |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
NO. She dropped the ball. Hello!?!? Why is this a question? Sometimes you cant take this message board stuff to the field. Theory is great discussion, you will learn tons, some of it stays right here, never to the diamond ever. This convo is one of them situations IMO. Look, You have situations where they catch the ball for the FORCE at 1B for the 3rd out and they throw the ball away so quickly as they run off the field.. it almost looks like a drop. Everyone saw it, everyone knows it.. you dont call that safe.. no tie base to the runner, no "she didnt have control" Thats a out. Thats the call you make. They catch the ball and are walking away and fall into a gopher hole, tripping, and dropping the ball. That is an out. It already was an out, but now after the play, she tripped. We know its still an out. You dont change that to safe, thats out. Some play, any play, were the end result is people in the general vicinity from both teams, a little dust, and a guy in blue thinking "damn these spandax pants are hot those big liars", and a yellow ball on the ground. That is safe. Thats the call you make. You try and sell any real team or coach on "well she had possession at the time of the tag and dropped it immediately after..." Ha! Thats a hoot. Safe.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS Last edited by wadeintothem; Mon Jun 09, 2008 at 09:49pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Finding a "good" video/DVD on 2 man mechanics" | Linknblue | Basketball | 3 | Mon Dec 10, 2007 09:55am |
Can "FOUL" be made "FAIR"? | PAT THE REF | Baseball | 60 | Sat Feb 24, 2007 09:01pm |
"Balk" or "Ball" | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 9 | Fri Aug 18, 2006 08:26am |