The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 164
Help on "tag"

Girl in rundown between 2nd and 3rd. F6 chases her back to 2B, F6 reaches out and tags runner as runner begins to dive back to 2B. Runner is now on the ground and F6s momentum causes her to trip over the down runner. As F6 hits the ground, the ball comes out of her glove. The ball was securely in her possession until that point.

Is the tag rule like the catch rule where there has to be voluntary release, i.e., no out on this play, or is this an out if secure possession is retained through the act of applying the tag and releasing the glove from the runners body?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTQ_Blue
Girl in rundown between 2nd and 3rd. F6 chases her back to 2B, F6 reaches out and tags runner as runner begins to dive back to 2B. Runner is now on the ground and F6s momentum causes her to trip over the down runner. As F6 hits the ground, the ball comes out of her glove. The ball was securely in her possession until that point.

Is the tag rule like the catch rule where there has to be voluntary release, i.e., no out on this play, or is this an out if secure possession is retained through the act of applying the tag and releasing the glove from the runners body?
IMO, she must have a voluntary release of the ball, just like a catch. I remember this has been discussed before and seems there were some differences of opinion. She did not, IMO, demonstrate control of the ball in your situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 06:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
I agree with DH - based on your description - the fielder did not have control of her body, so the tag is not completed until you see a voluntary release. If the runner is now on the base, I've got the runner as Safe.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 161
Send a message via Skype™ to 7in60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M
I agree with DH - based on your description - the fielder did not have control of her body, so the tag is not completed until you see a voluntary release. If the runner is now on the base, I've got the runner as Safe.
Agreed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 08:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTQ_Blue
Girl in rundown between 2nd and 3rd. F6 chases her back to 2B, F6 reaches out and tags runner as runner begins to dive back to 2B. Runner is now on the ground and F6s momentum causes her to trip over the down runner. As F6 hits the ground, the ball comes out of her glove. The ball was securely in her possession until that point.

Is the tag rule like the catch rule where there has to be voluntary release, i.e., no out on this play, or is this an out if secure possession is retained through the act of applying the tag and releasing the glove from the runners body?
There is no such requirement. To begin the voluntary release is one of the options to help umpires determine a catch. Rule 1.Catch Problem is that the scenario has absolutely nothing to do with a catch.

Since there was no question presented of the fielder's possession of the ball before the tag or after a tag, the runner should be out.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 08:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
There is no such requirement. To begin the voluntary release is one of the options to help umpires determine a catch. Rule 1.Catch Problem is that the scenario has absolutely nothing to do with a catch.

Since there was no question presented of the fielder's possession of the ball before the tag or after a tag, the runner should be out.
I see your point so don't think I'm arguing with you. But my only question is that why is the requirement there for a catch and not a tag? Same principle isn't it?

I know you will make me make a case for my point so....I think demonstrating control of a tag involves the same issue, did they control the ball. If they have a voluntarily release, no doubt they had control. If they drop the ball, such as on a tag, it is impossible to know at exactly what point they began to lose possession/control. It could have been immediately when tag was applied or not.

Also, could one make the case that F6, in this scenario, actually had caught the ball, assuming a throw from another fielder, and did not have a voluntary release? Same thing if she caught the batted ball and ran the runner back?

Last edited by Dholloway1962; Sun Jun 08, 2008 at 08:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
I think I would have to see an out on this call. Rule or nuance or not.. in general drop = safe.

If I'm gonna sell a "out" on this play, and take the heat to sell "out" on a dropped ball.. there has better have been some dancing ballerina type control displayed before the trip and drop of the ball. If there is even a hint of a question of control = safe.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 09:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
From the way I am reading the OP, I believe that I will have to side with Mike on this one. It sounds as if there was no question of control as the play was made, simply that she lost the ball when she fell. From what I am reading this sounds like an out.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem
I think I would have to see an out on this call. Rule or nuance or not.. in general drop = safe.

If I'm gonna sell a "out" on this play, and take the heat to sell "out" on a dropped ball.. there has better have been some dancing ballerina type control displayed before the trip and drop of the ball. If there is even a hint of a question of control = safe.
Then you would never call an out when a defender loses the ball on the transfer when trying to turn a double play?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2008, 12:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Then you would never call an out when a defender loses the ball on the transfer when trying to turn a double play?
What willis?
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 08, 2008, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
I see your point so don't think I'm arguing with you. But my only question is that why is the requirement there for a catch and not a tag? Same principle isn't it?
No. How can you make a tag if you don't already have possession of the ball?

Quote:
I know you will make me make a case for my point so....I think demonstrating control of a tag involves the same issue, did they control the ball. If they have a voluntarily release, no doubt they had control. If they drop the ball, such as on a tag, it is impossible to know at exactly what point they began to lose possession/control. It could have been immediately when tag was applied or not.
Okay, again, a voluntary release is NOT a requirement to determine a catch or control of the ball.

Quote:
Also, could one make the case that F6, in this scenario, actually had caught the ball, assuming a throw from another fielder, and did not have a voluntary release? Same thing if she caught the batted ball and ran the runner back?
Why are people trying to turn this into a TWP? This is a no brainer. F6 has possession of the ball, makes a tag, F6 still has possession of the ball. At this point, the runner is out. This is undeniable. F6 then trips over retired runner, falls and loses control of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2008, 08:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
No. How can you make a tag if you don't already have possession of the ball?



Okay, again, a voluntary release is NOT a requirement to determine a catch or control of the ball.



Why are people trying to turn this into a TWP? This is a no brainer. F6 has possession of the ball, makes a tag, F6 still has possession of the ball. At this point, the runner is out. This is undeniable. F6 then trips over retired runner, falls and loses control of the ball.
Play at the plate, catcher has the ball cleanly in her glove and makes the tag on runner sliding in. Big pile up as they meet. Why do we hesitate and look for the ball. If ball is rolling around we have a safe. Even though the catcher had "control" of the ball at time of tag, if she doesn't have it when the dust settles we have a safe don't we? Or is runner out immediately when tag is made?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2008, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
...Why do we hesitate ...
We hesitate because the catcher had control of the ball immediately before the tag and if we see she does not have the ball in her possession immediately after the tag, then we know she must have drop it during the tag.

That, in my opinion, is a bit different than a catcher completing the tag, while still in control of the ball, and then tripping over a bat, mask or retired runner after we have seen that she did indeed maintain control of the ball during act of tagging the runner.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2008, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
Play at the plate, catcher has the ball cleanly in her glove and makes the tag on runner sliding in. Big pile up as they meet. Why do we hesitate and look for the ball. If ball is rolling around we have a safe. Even though the catcher had "control" of the ball at time of tag, if she doesn't have it when the dust settles we have a safe don't we? Or is runner out immediately when tag is made?
Because, the OP stated that F6 had control all the way through the tag, then fell over the runner. In your sit, you see F2 with control as the runner arrives, but you're not sure she maintained it through the tag because of all the dust you're waiting to settle. The OP appeared sure that the ball was still in the glove immediately following the tag.

But... I've got one for you. Bases loaded, no outs. Batter hits squib to F1, who eventually picks it up and throws it home. The F2 catches the ball and immediately tries to tag R1 (DMC, but it was 10U) who is arriving at the plate and the ball comes loose. Ball got there first, but the tag attempt was immediate, so I couldn't be 100% sure of control. Give them the force or not?
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2008, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
Play at the plate, catcher has the ball cleanly in her glove and makes the tag on runner sliding in. Big pile up as they meet. Why do we hesitate and look for the ball. If ball is rolling around we have a safe. Even though the catcher had "control" of the ball at time of tag, if she doesn't have it when the dust settles we have a safe don't we? Or is runner out immediately when tag is made?
What is so hard to understand? I'm sorry, but you are looking for something that doesn't exist.

I cannot make it any simpler than I already have.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finding a "good" video/DVD on 2 man mechanics" Linknblue Basketball 3 Mon Dec 10, 2007 09:55am
Can "FOUL" be made "FAIR"? PAT THE REF Baseball 60 Sat Feb 24, 2007 09:01pm
"Balk" or "Ball" johnnyg08 Baseball 9 Fri Aug 18, 2006 08:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1