The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jun 03, 2008, 12:16am
Official Forum Member

Eye Protection

I noticed in the first game of the championship series that the Plate Umpire put on a pair of glasses in the later innings. Clear lens, but not obviously prescription. I have been using safety glasses for a few years now and find it is a great help on the dusty/windy days. I was curious if anyone else in here uses them also.
Old Tue Jun 03, 2008, 12:27am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by outathm
I noticed in the first game of the championship series that the Plate Umpire put on a pair of glasses in the later innings. Clear lens, but not obviously prescription. I have been using safety glasses for a few years now and find it is a great help on the dusty/windy days. I was curious if anyone else in here uses them also.
I'd rather spend $20 on a pair of shatter-resistant glasses than a whole lot more on doctor's bills. Better believe I wear 'em behind the plate. I took someone's recommendation and bought a pair of Coyote sunglasses with interchangeable lenses. Dark for sunny, orange for overcast, clear for night.

And then, there's BuggBob...

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Old Tue Jun 03, 2008, 01:49am
Official Forum Member

I usually ump in morning and I wear prescription sunglasses under my mask.
Old Tue Jun 03, 2008, 02:28am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
It was windy and dusty...Hoovie needed some eye protection. Good move...called a great game!! If I could be that good with those glasses...I would pay a fortune for them!!
Old Tue Jun 03, 2008, 05:41am
Official Forum Member

Quote: