The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 07, 2008, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED
Irish,
Go easy there chief. I think what cloverdale had in mind was the part of the LBR that says the BR is committed to 2nd and must continue on to 2nd once she rounds first and makes an attempt to 2nd. Now we know that part of the rule does not apply to this situation as the BR had passed 1st prior to F1 getting the ball in the circle. Granted someone with your years of experience and knowledge knows this like the back of their hand....but it can be seen how someone might have that part of the rule and misapply it to this situation.
Okay, maybe a little harsh.......nah. As much as I would love to kill the LBR, this is one of the most important rules an umpire must know if s/he is going to work FP softball for any organization. Granted, this may not be Cloverdale's fault depending on how quick he was put into this situation and the training offered before being placed there.

In it's simplest form, which is exactly what Cloverdale's hijack post noted, it is not that difficult. What can happen once the pitcher has the ball in the circle and a runner is off the base? The runner is given one opportunity to stop and then must immediately proceed to either base. If that does not happend, the ball is dead and the runner declared out.

He was correct, he did jump it early, as it seems he did not give the runner the opportunity to continue or retreat. But then he went on to say the BR should have been declared out just for trying to go to 2B.

Quote:
That was my point, cloverdale misapplied the above rule in this case....but there is a rule that states with exact circumstances that a runner must continue on to 2nd once they start toward it.
The problem is he didn't apply any rule. He killed the play and than awarded the BR the next base.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hit Batter Rule DGTYER Baseball 11 Mon Jun 11, 2007 03:00pm
NCAA BOO effect CecilOne Softball 10 Tue Mar 07, 2006 09:35am
Force Still In Effect? chuckfan1 Baseball 17 Thu Nov 10, 2005 06:54pm
Batter back swing hits F2? GeoCBlu Baseball 10 Fri Apr 18, 2003 12:10pm
Did It effect the Play? PeteBooth Baseball 10 Thu Feb 15, 2001 05:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1