The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 07, 2008, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
For the benefit of the OP (since you know all of this)..

There are overly complicated (IMO) and even goofy (IMO) rules for the LBR when the BR overruns 1B. (ASA 8-7-T-3 b thru e; NFHS 8-7-4 b thru e) If the BR overruns, she can find herself in a situation where she has not yet stopped, but is nonetheless committed to either 1B or 2B, no option.

None of those overrunning rules apply when the BR rounds 1B. The rule for a BR who rounds is ASA 8-7-T-3a / NFHS 8-7-4a. If she rounds, she is not committed to either base until she stops and then moves again (assuming F1 has the ball in the circle and is not making a play). She is allowed this stop, and rounding 1B and continuing toward 2B does NOT commit her to 2B. She may still take her one stop and then return to 1B, if she so chooses.

If she stops ON the base (and F1 has the ball in the circle and is not making a play), she may not leave.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hit Batter Rule DGTYER Baseball 11 Mon Jun 11, 2007 03:00pm
NCAA BOO effect CecilOne Softball 10 Tue Mar 07, 2006 09:35am
Force Still In Effect? chuckfan1 Baseball 17 Thu Nov 10, 2005 06:54pm
Batter back swing hits F2? GeoCBlu Baseball 10 Fri Apr 18, 2003 12:10pm
Did It effect the Play? PeteBooth Baseball 10 Thu Feb 15, 2001 05:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1