The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 07, 2008, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Ok ASA 8-7-T-3-c states that " A batter-runner who over-runs first base toward right field, turns left and moves directly toward second base and stops is committed to second base and must attempt to advance non-stop to second"

You are correct this part of the rule does NOT apply to this situation. That was my point, this runner did not overrun toward right field and did not stop after turning left. That was my point, cloverdale misapplied the above rule in this case....but there is a rule that states with exact circumstances that a runner must continue on to 2nd once they start toward it. That was my point that there are times, more so when as you are gaining experience, where something happens and you remember that there is that one rule that says something about.......but on the field in the heat of the action you forget the specifics (has to overrun 1st heading to right field and turn to 2nd and then stop.....and the F1 has to have ball in circle while this is going on). You are also correct that I left out the overrunning 1st and stopping for the sake of being brief, but unless I am failing english terribly it appears that ASA does have a rule that requires the BR, now Runner to continue on to 2nd after they start that way...with the limitations listed in the rule. Also it appears to be the same rule 8-7-4-C in the FED book.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hit Batter Rule DGTYER Baseball 11 Mon Jun 11, 2007 03:00pm
NCAA BOO effect CecilOne Softball 10 Tue Mar 07, 2006 09:35am
Force Still In Effect? chuckfan1 Baseball 17 Thu Nov 10, 2005 06:54pm
Batter back swing hits F2? GeoCBlu Baseball 10 Fri Apr 18, 2003 12:10pm
Did It effect the Play? PeteBooth Baseball 10 Thu Feb 15, 2001 05:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1