![]() |
|
|
|||
I don't know about LL, but I probably would have killed the play if I saw the defense being forced to chase R1 (not R3) into the outfield for an out. How far off the bag did the R1 go? Just a foot or two (maybe these are small infields), or even further? Can't speak for LL, but sounds like it could have been INT to me. I don't have enough of the puzzle here to judge for certain.
Depending on their positioning, you could have R2 passing R1. If R2 was standing on 3B and R1 came running back to 3B and continued on down the foul line, I'd consider R2 as having passed R1, being that R2 has now progressed further than R1. R2 would only be out, and the ball in ASA would be live.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Thanks for the reply. Yes, R1 lead runner only went a few steps off of 3rd base on the way back. The catcher never got close enough to make a tag on either player at third.
I couldn't find the correct rule during the play and I talked the opposing coach and umpire into putting R2 on third and called R1 out, based on my understanding of runner out when passed and having assumed that the play should have been called dead. This was done trying to get the game going. Opposing coach, I thought was trying to manipulate the new umpire, calling good pitch, prior to the ball or strike call, etc. He was just trying to take advantage of the situation, which kind of got me riled up a touch. |
|
|||
Again, I don't do LL, so I'm only speaking ASA here. It doesn't sound like INT to me, but it sounds like R1 had been "passed" by R2. Key word being: sounds. Without seeing the play myself or knowing exactly where the runners were, that's all I've got.
Out of curiosity, are you a coach, player or umpire?
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Wow....what a mess!
If R1 (beginning the play on third) ran back to third and past the base into the outfield to avoid a tag, I can see an out call for that action. However, you said that F2 was not close enough to tag her, so at this point I still have a live ball. I would not call R2 (beginning the play at second) out for passing R1, because she has not technically passed her. If R1 turned back toward second base, then I can justify an out call on R2 for passing R1. You said the play concluded by R2 retreating to second where she was tagged for an out, and R1 ran home and scored. Assuming that R1 touched third base on her way back home, I have a run scored, an out at second base and no runners on. If R1 did not touch third on her way back home, she would be subject to appeal. I don't know LL rules specifically, so this is subject to change based on any LL interp that I may not be aware of.....
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Passed Runner/Missed Base | blueump | Softball | 20 | Thu Apr 26, 2007 03:59pm |
Passed Runner | blueump | Baseball | 17 | Wed May 17, 2006 03:41pm |
Runner on base out when hit? | emaxos | Baseball | 39 | Wed Jun 30, 2004 01:24am |
when has a runner passed another runner? | Jake80 | Baseball | 7 | Thu May 06, 2004 07:37pm |
Passed base vs. gross miss | greymule | Softball | 5 | Sat Feb 28, 2004 07:33pm |